Confucius Institute Events

(Fall 2015 – December 2015) printable version


Chinese Corner: various dates from 9/1/15 – 12/4/15


Sep1

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: September 1, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Sep5

CLTA-TX Annual Conference: September 5, 2015, Saturday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., JO 4.614
Registration: http://www.clta-texas.org


Sep5

孔子沙龙 Confucius Salon: September 5, 2015, Saturday, 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m., JO 4.102
Topic: Ethnic Minority Groups in China: Their Past and Present


Sep9

茶艺 Tea Ceremony: September 9, 2015, Wednesday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Sep11

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: September 11, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Sep15

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: September 15, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Sep18

书法 Calligraphy: September 18, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Sep23

学术讲座 Lecture: September 23, 2015, Wednesday, 7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m., JO 2.604
Topic: Remembrance: World War II and the Holocaust


Sep30

孔子学院日 Confucius Institute Day: September 30, 2015, Wednesday, 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Clark Center


Oct2

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: October 2, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Oct3

孔子沙龙 Confucius Salon: October 3, 2015, Saturday, 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m., JO 4.102
Topic: China on the Tip of the Tongue: Chinese Food Culture


Oct4

中秋晚会 Mid-Autumn Festival Gala: October 4, 2015, Sunday, 7:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m., Clark Center


Oct6

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: October 6, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Oct12

茶艺 Tea Ceremony: October 12, 2015, Monday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Oct16

电影:催眠大师 Movie: The Great Hypnotist: October 16, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., GR 2.530


Oct17

HSK, HSKK Test: October 17, 2015, Saturday, 1:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Oct20

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: October 20, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Oct30

中国结 Chinese knotting: October 30, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Nov3

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: November 3, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Nov7

孔子沙龙 Confucius Salon: November 7, 2015, Saturday, 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m., JO 4.102
Topic: Jewish Thinkers' Fascination with Chinese Thought


Nov7

音乐会:四季中国 Concert: Four Seasons of China: November 7, 2015, Saturday, 7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m., Clark Center


Nov13

书法 Calligraphy: November 13, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Nov17

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: November 17, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Nov18

茶艺 Tea Ceremony: November 18, 2015, Wednesday, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Nov20-21

国际会议 International Symposium: "Why Classical Chinese Philosophy Still Matters in the Global Age": November 20 – 21, 2015, Friday – Saturday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., McDermott Library Suite


Nov21

YCT 考试 YCT Test: November 21, 2015, Saturday, 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., JO 5.504


Dec1

汉语角 Chinese Conversation Table: December 1, 2015, Tuesday, 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., JO 5.504


Dec4

电影:小时代 Movie: Tiny Times: December 4, 2015, Friday, 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., GR 2.530


Dec6

HSK, HSKK Test: December 6, 2015, Sunday, 1:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., JO 5.504


 

Previous Years' Events: (Fall 2014 – Summer 2015)


Sep27

“Confucius Institute Day”: September 27, Saturday, 9am-10pm, CN1.112


Oct18

“Chinese Teaching Materials Workshop & Exhibition”:  October 18, Saturday, 9am-4pm, JO4.614


Oct30

"Early Modern China and England:  Connections and Comparisons in Literature and the Arts", lecture by Dr. David Porter, Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the University of Michigan: Oct. 22, Thursday, 7:30pm, Jonsson Performance Hall


Nov17

Chinese Culture Week: Nov. 17-21, one -week event, time and venue will be announced


Feb21

Chinese New Year Celebration: Feb. 21, 9am-10pm, CN1.112


Feb26

“Why Classical Chinese Philosophy Still Matters in the Age of Globalization”, lecture by Dr. Michael Puett, Walter C. Klein Professor of Chinese History, Harvard University: Feb. 26, 7:30pm, Jonsson Performance Hall


Mar28

“Chinese Bridge” Chinese Proficiency Competition in Dallas Area:  March 28, Saturday, 9am-2pm, Jonsson Performance Hall


Apr19

“Chinese Bridge” Chinese Proficiency Competition in Southern United States: April 19, Sunday, 9am-2pm, Jonsson Performance Hall


APR26

“Chinese Bridge” Chinese Proficiency Competition Preliminary Contest in Southern United States April 26, 9a.m. - 2p.m., JO 2.604


MAY16

HSK, HSKK Test May 16, 9a.m - 12p.m., JO 5.504


JUN 8

Become Gong Fu Panda Summer Camp June 8 - July 3, UT Dallas


Jul25

“2015 Summer Chinese Teacher Training Workshops”: July 25, Saturday, 9am-5pm, JO4.614


Aug15

2015 Chinese Language Teacher Swapshop August 15 - 16, JO 4.614


Sep7

2015 Fall Chinese Language Courses Open to Register Registration deadline: September 7


Sep23

Public Lecture: “From Despair to Hope: A Confucian Solution to Contemporary Crises”: September 23, 7:30p.m - 9:00p.m., Jonsson Performance Hall


 

Confucius