Annual Texas Guitar Competition and Festival

March 5 – March 7, 2015
UT Dallas Alexander Clark Center

This unique Texas competition, designed to showcase outstanding classical guitar students, will award approximately $8,000 in cash prizes to the winners. Over the three-day event, students can compete and attend master classes and concerts by internationally recognized guitarists. We have a youth competition for ages 11-18 as well as the main competition for college-level students.

International Concert Guitarist Competition:  

  • First Place $3000
  • Second Place $2000
  • Third Place $1000
  • Fourth Place $500
plus merchandise from SAVAREZ. 

Youth Competition (both divisions have prizes):

  • First Place $300
  • Second Place $200
  • Third Place $100
plus merchandise from  SAVAREZ.


International Concert Guitarist Competition Guidelines

Youth Competition Guidelines


14th Annual Guitar Competition Schedule of events

Thursday, March 5  Semi-finals (Not open to the general public)

Friday, March 6   Finals

Competition Finals 8:00 p.m.  Clark Center

Saturday, March 7  Youth Competition and Concerts

Youth Competition (both levels)*      9:00 a.m. AH1 1.106 and 1.104
Fabio Montomoli Concert     4:00 p.m Clark Center
Xuefei Yang Concert  8:00 p.m.  Clark Center    

*open only to parents and teachers of competitors.

This years guest artists will be Fabio Montomoli and the Xuefei Yang.

Fabio Montomoli – 4 p.m., Free
Italian Fabio Montomoli’s “repertoire is unusual and the approach is personal and deeply felt” (Eliot Fisk).

Xuefei Yang – 8 p.m., $25
International sensation Xuefei Yang, admired for her ability to weave Asian and western musical traditions, returns by popular demand to perform the featured concert of this year’s competition and festival.



Sponsored by:

RENN logo
RENN Capital Group

Savarez logo





Dallas Symphony






Competition Directors:
Enric Madriguera, Director
Eddie Healy, Assistant Director and Youth Competition Coordinator

Guitar Advisory Board
Dennis Kratz, Dean, UT Dallas School of Arts & Humanities
Enric Madriguera, Artistic Director, Head, Guitar Program at UT Dallas
Russell Cleveland, Chairman
Stan Ballard
David Butler
Camille Fu
Frank Kimlicko
Kenneth Lamb
Harry McClintock
Bryan Milner
Todd Sandler
Brett Webb