Distinguished Alumni Awards

Gail Davitt, David Schulz 2003
Enric Madriguera 2004
Ann Broadaway 2005
Jin-ya Huang, Mary Murphy 2006
Richard Merrick 2007
Lisa Yun, Alma Bennett 2008
Patti Henry Pinch, Betty Wiesepape 2009
Brian McCall 2010
Peggy Brown, Katherine Pabst 2011
Akin Babatunde, David Hanson 2012
Lori Stephens 2013
Willie Baronet, Gabriel Dawe, Anne Healy 2014
Maryam Baig, David Lozano 2015
Adrienne Rosenberg 2016

Annual Teaching Award

The Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award is presented annually by the University of Texas System to a member of the UT Dallas faculty. Five members of the School of Arts and Humanities have received this award:

Victor Worsfold 1989
Dennis Kratz 1992
Theresa Towner 2002
Robert Nelsen 2005
John Pomara 2007

The Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award was renamed the UT System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award in 2009. Three members of the School of Arts and Humanities have received this award:

Theresa Towner 2010
Jessica Murphy 2013
Monica Rankin 2015

The School of Arts and Humanities annually recognizes excellence in teaching by a member of the faculty and a Graduate Teaching Assistant with the Victor Worsfold Outstanding Teaching Award. Victor Worsfold, one of the founding members of our faculty in 1975, served with distinction as professor and administrator until his retirement in 2001. Among his many qualities was an extraordinary gift for teaching: In 1989 he received the Chancellor's Council Outstanding Teaching Award (at that time the highest honor for teaching from The University of Texas System). His service to the university took many forms in addition to his role as a charismatic professor of Philosophy. He even served for many years as university orator at commencement ceremonies, his Scottish lilt lending a touch of cosmopolitan class to the proceedings. He served as Associate Dean of the School during its formative years. For many years, continuing after his retirement, he was a mentor to the McDermott Scholars, perhaps best known for imparting his love of opera. A singer himself. Victor—along with then Deans Gavin Hambly (A&H) and Stan Rupert (NS&M) and others—created the Messiah Sing, now the Holiday Sing, the oldest tradition at UT Dallas that will celebrate its 40th anniversary in December 2016. Victor was a philosopher in the Greek understanding of the word: someone who lived according to the precepts of a thoughtful and deeply humanistic ethical philosophy. Victor died in 2013.

Victor Worsfold Outstanding Teaching Award

Edrie Sobstyl  1998-99
Monica Saba   1999-00
Adrienne McLean  2000-01
Robert Nelsen 2001-02
Dianne Goode 2002-03
Patricia Michaelson 2002-03
Gavin R.G. Hambly  2003-04
Pamela Gossin 2004-05
R. David Edmunds 2005-06
R. David Edmunds 2006-07
Monica Rankin 2007-08
Kathy Lingo 2008-09
Tom Riccio 2009-10
Daniel Wickberg 2010-11
Todd Fechter 2011-12
Eric Farrar 2012-13
Michele Hanlon 2013-14
Sabrina Starnaman 2014-15
Zafar Anjum 2015-16

Teaching Assistant of the Year

Jean Perry, Beth Berrett 2004
Michelle Swindell 2005
Pia Jakobssen 2006
Rashmi Ramachandran 2007
Anthony Chaney, Lourdes Molina 2008
Megan Malone 2009
Rebecca Sader 2010
Lilian Barger 2011
Latoya Watkins 2012
Sara Keeth 2013
Tracey Berry 2014
Toni Loftin 2015
Kevin Wells 2016

Jo Ellen Roach served as the chief financial officer and "office manager" of the School of Arts and Humanities from 1985-2001. During that time she was an exemplary financial officer—and much more. She was also responsible for establishing the environment of competence, collegiality and gracious public service that remains the norm in our School. The staff that she nurtured included Peggy Eckelkamp, Dean Kratz's Administrative Assistant for many years, and Sherry Clarkson, the beloved "mother hen" to our graduate students. Jo Ellen was a deep reservoir of wisdom and an exemplar of steadfast dedication to the highest standards of personal and professional action.

Jo Ellen Roach Staff of Year

Sherry Clarkson 2010
Michelle Long 2011
Lisa Lyles 2012
Carlos Palomino, Michelle Lemon 2013
Pia Jakobsson 2014
Julia Lawshae 2015
Pierrette Lacour, Megan Gray Hering 2016