Lucien Stryk Prize
Stryk Submission Guidelines

In 2009, the American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) was pleased to announce the inaugural Lucien Stryk Prize, which recognizes the importance of Asian translation for international literature and promotes the translation of Asian works into English. Stryk (1924-2013) was an internationally acclaimed translator of Japanese and Chinese Zen poetry, renowned Zen poet himself, and former professor of English at Northern Illinois University. The winning translator will be announced in the fall of each year and will receive a $5,000 award.

Each year, ALTA invites publishers and translators to nominate book-length translations into English of Asian poetry or source texts from (but not commentaries on) Zen Buddhism. Languages eligible are Hindi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

Works must have been published in the preceding year and will be judged according to the literary significance of the original and the success of the translation in recreating the literary artistry of the original. While the Lucien Stryk Prize is primarily intended to recognize the translation of contemporary works, retranslations or first-time translations of important older works will also be seriously considered.

For more information, please contact Maria Suarez at

Lucas Klein






Red Pine


Charles Egan


Don Mee Choi