NTA Submission Guidelines National Translation Award
<!- #pagetitle ->

The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA) invites publishers to submit nominations for ALTA’s National Translation Award. The translator selected for this award will receive a cash prize of $5,000.

To be eligible for the 2014 National Translation Award, the translation must be:

  • by an American citizen or U.S. resident
  • from any language into English
  • of a book-length work of fiction, poetry, drama, or creative non-fiction (literary criticism, philosophy, and biographies are not eligible),
  • published anywhere in the world in 2013.

The deadline for nominating books published in 2013 is March 15, 2014. The NTA consists of two stages, as outlined in NTA At a Glance below.

Please use Submittable (https://alta.submittable.com/submit) to provide nomination materials, including the following:

  • copy of the nominated book,
  • copy of the original-language text (if available in pdf), along with
  • a $50 entry fee for each nominated book ($30 if your press publishes five or fewer titles a year)

If the original language text is available only in hard-copy, please send it by regular mail to:

American Literary Translators Association

ATTN: National Translation Award 900 East 7th St., PMB 266, Bloomington, IN 47405-3201

Publishers will be asked to send THREE copies of the nominated book, if it is advanced to the Judges Round.

Queries concerning the process can be sent to aron-aji@uiowa.edu.

Criteria for judging the award are:

  • the importance of the translation and the literary significance of the original;
  • the success of the translation in recreating the artistic force of the original.

Translations of contemporary works are preferred, but important re-translations or first-time translations of older works will also be considered if they make significant contributions to international literature and its translation.

The National Translation Award supports ALTA’s goals of enhancing the status of literary translation, improving the quality of literary translating, and broadening the market for works in English translation. Recent winners include such distinguished translators as Richard Wilbur (2008), Norman Shapiro (2009), Alex Zucker (2010), Lisa Rose Bradford (2011), Sinan Antoon (2012), and Philip Boehm (2013).

The award-winning book and translator for 2014 will be featured at the 37th annual conference of the American Literary Translators Association in Milwaukee, WI.

We look forward to receiving your submissions.


NTA At A Glance:

Experts Round March-April 2014 Nominated books are reviewed by expert readers on the basis of artistic excellence (including the precision and fluency of the translation) and artistic merit (including the importance of the author and work).
Long List April 2014 Translations recommended for the Judges Round
Judges Round May-August 2014 Three Judges review the long-listed works based on the overall quality of the English translation, the significance of the work both in the source culture and in the context of International literature.
Short List September 2014 Finalists selected by the Judges
Winner November 2014 Announced at 2014 ALTA