Amartya Sen

Nobel Laureate
Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University

Women: Survival and Empowerment

Presented By

Gendercide Awareness Project | UT Dallas Asia Center | UT Dallas School of Economic Political and Policy Sciences | South Asia Democracy Watch


Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen is a highly acclaimed economist, writer and philosopher who was awarded the 1998 Nobel prize for his contributions to welfare economics. Regarded as one of the world's foremost thinkers, Professor Sen was featured on Time Magazine’s list of ‘World's 50 Most Influential People Who Matter’ and was named the  ‘Third Most Influential Thought Leader of 2014” by Gottlieb Duttweiler Institute.

Professor Sen helped create the United Nations Human Development Index and is best known for his work on famine, poverty and the role of freedom as a means for development. He was the first person to measure gendercide and in 1990, determined that an astonishing 100 million women were demographically “missing” in the world due to vicious discriminatory practices. Amartya Sen has long championed education for girls and economic empowerment of women – as both a moral right and a tool for development.

A leading intellectual, Sen’s books have been translated into more than thirty languages across the world. Some of his more noteworthy publications include, ‘Development as Freedom’, ‘Poverty and Famines: An Essay on Entitlements and Deprivation’, ‘On Economic Inequality’, ‘Inequality Reexamined’, and 'The Idea of Justice.'

Currently the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University, Sen has also worked as a Professor at the London School of Economics and at The University of Oxford. His research has encompassed economic theory, ethics and political philosophy, welfare economics, development economics, public health, and gender studies. 

Amartya Sen has won an array of laurels including the Bharat Ratna (India); Commandeur de la Legion d'Honneur (France); the National Humanities Medal (USA); Ordem do Merito Cientifico (Brazil); Honorary Companion of Honour (UK); Aztec Eagle (Mexico); Edinburgh Medal (UK); the George Marshall Award (USA); the Eisenhauer Medal (USA); and the Nobel Prize in Economics.