Skip to Main Navigation

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences - The University of Texas at Dallas

Karen Huxtable-Jester

Karen Huxtable-Jester

Senior Lecturer

Teaching Support Coordinator

PhD, The Ohio State University

Intergenerational Transmission of Abuse, Attachment Theory, Self-Reflection and Change in Personal Belief Systems

GR 4.714

972-883-6434 phone

drkarenhj@utdallas.edu email

About Karen Huxtable-Jester

I earned a B.S. in Psychology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst (1986), a Masters in Clinical-Child psychology from the Ohio State University (1992), and a Ph.D. in Developmental psychology from the Ohio State University (1995). I began teaching in 1988, and have taught a wide variety of courses in Connecticut at the University of Bridgeport and Saint Joseph College, and in Ohio at the Ohio State University and Central Ohio Technical College. I have been teaching at UTD since 2000.

In all of my courses, my most fundamental goal is to bring about change in the ways in which students think, not only about the topics addressed in the discipline, but about themselves and the way they perceive the world. To achieve this kind of deep and lasting change students must be challenged to question their own current level of understanding and see that they must revise it in terms of new information and by evaluating assumptions, evidence, and conclusions. I incorporate considerable class discussion into my lectures in order to elicit students’ ideas, to promote active involvement with the material, and to assess students’ ability to apply course concepts. I want students to learn not just what we think we know in the discipline but how we came to those conclusions, how we continue to re-examine the evidence for those conclusions, and how we gather evidence to generate new knowledge.