Certificate in cybersecurity systems (CCSS) requires a total of 12 semester credit hours. All students must take the course named “MIS 6311 Cyber Security Fundamentals”. After that, students choose a track and three more courses within that track.

Courses that make up the CCSS (three semester hours each) are as follows:

Track #1: Computer Science Emphasis (CS Track)
Choose three courses from the following:

  • Information Security (CS 6324)
  • Network Security (CS 6349)
  • Data and Applications Security (CS 6348)
  • One course from a list of existing cyber security systems Computer Science courses (offered periodically, and must be approved)

Track #2: Internal Audit, Information Management Emphasis (IA/IM Track)

  • IT Security (MIS 6330)
  • IT Audit and Risk Management (ACCT 6336)
  • Internal Audit (ACCT 6380) or Cloud Computing (MIS 6363)

Track #3: Systems Engineering and Management Emphasis

  • Systems Engineering, Architecture and Design (SYSM 6301)

Students take at least one course from each of the CS and IA/IM tracks, according to the following:

  • Information Security (CS 6324) or IT Security (MIS 6330)
  • One course from cyber security systems courses listed in the other two Tracks (ACCT 6336/ACCT 6380/MIS 6363 or CS 6348/CS6349)