UT Dallas Debate Team Bios
Kyle Ballard

Kyle Ballard, Freshman

Debated at Coppell High School where he finishes 7th overall at 2014 NFL nationals. He is majoring in Finance.

Daniel Becker

Daniel Becker, Sophomore

Debated at Crowley High School where he qualified for both UIL and TFA state.

Danielle Edmonds

Danielle Edmonds, Freshman

Debated at Corpus Christi King where she qualified for NFL and TFA State. She is majoring in Political Science.

Thomas Flanagan

Thomas Flanagan, Freshman

Debated at Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School where he was a TFA semi-finalist in 2014. He is majoring in Economics.

Lesly Gutierrez

Lesly Gutierrez, Sophomore

Debated at Crosby HS in Houston Texas. She’s majoring in Neuroscience.

Brandon Johnson

Brandon Johnson, Freshman

Debated at Westwood High School in Austin, TX and is majoring in Geospatial Information Sciences.

Jacob Loehr

Jacob Loehr, Junior

Jacob Loehr was awarded a debate scholarship in 2012 after a very successful career at Westwood HS in Austin, where he finished 12th overall at NFL Nationals and was a three-time qualifier to the Texas Forensics Association state tournament. Jacob is majoring in political science. 

Emilio Lozano

Emilio Lozano, Junior

Debated at the Law Magnet High School in Dallas, TX.

Mariah McHenry

Mariah McHenry, Sophomore

Debated at Capen Mt. Carmel High School in Wichita Kansas.

Anthony Ogbuli

Anthony Ogbuli, Junior

Debated at Homewood-Flossmoor High School and Illinois State University before joining the UTD debate team in 2013.

Seneca Okere

Seneca Okere, Sophomore

Debated at Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet and is majoring in American Studies.

Demarcus Powell

Demarcus Powell, Sophomore

DeMarcus debated at Crowley high school for three years where he competed on the TFA and Texas TOC circuits. He Qualified for TFA State and U.I.L. region three times. During this time DeMarcus accumulated 841 NFL points. DeMarcus now debates at UT Dallas, he regularly judges on the Dallas circuit, and has judged in out-rounds of national tournaments.

Asif Sheikh

Asif Sheikh, Freshman

Debated at Berkner High School and is majoring in Computer and Environmental Science.

Rolando Velasquesz

Rolando Velasquesz, Junior

Rolando Velasquesz debated at Law Magnet High School in Dallas before receiving a debate scholarship in 2012.