The Jonsson School-”A Partnership for the Future”; Cutting edge research and development; top notch internships and cooperative education programs; highly qualified employees. These are just a few benefits of a strong alliance between industry and academe. At The University of Texas at Dallas the strong tie that binds the University to corporations was present even at UTD’s inception. Some 31 years ago the founders of Texas Instruments offered their private research and development institution to the State of Texas to become part of the University of Texas System. Seventeen years later the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board authorized UTD’s Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science to prepare students to tackle the rapidly changing world of technology and communications.

UTD and the Jonsson School have maintained close ties with TI, but as enrollment and programs have grown, so have the relationships with other corporations such as Alcatel (The Jonsson School has recently been named as one of 5 world wide research partners in Alcatel’s Preferred Partner program), Nortel, Ericsson, Nokia, Worldcom/MCI, Lucent, and many others. Industry leaders have joined with UTD and the Jonsson School to conduct research, share resources, enhance educational opportunities, and develop new technologies.

The Jonsson School is organized into two departments, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. The Electrical Engineering Department was founded in 1988 and graduated its first MS student in 1989. It has grown to become the third largest EE program in the State, graduating over 165 students in 1999, and out producing such well-known schools as the University of Colorado, Iowa State, Michigan State, and the University of Oklahoma. UTD’s Electrical Engineering Program strives to provide high quality education and internationally competitive research to the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex and Texas while focusing its efforts on areas of greatest need to North Texas industry. The department features 32 tenured/tenure-track faculty members supported by 4 senior lecturers and laboratory staff. The program specializes in the following areas: Communications and Signal Processing, Digital Systems, Microelectronic Circuits and Systems, Optical and Photonic devices, Materials and Systems, and Solid-State Devices and Circuits.

The Computer Science Department was created in 1975 and became a part of the Jonsson School in 1986. Today UTD boasts one of the largest computer science departments in the country, with a talented student body of more than1,500, taught by an internationally recognized faculty of 40 and 8 experienced senior lecturers. The UTD Department of Computer Science is committed to excel in three areas: to provide the highest quality instruction to undergraduate and graduate students; to conduct leading edge research in computer science and engineering; and to provide leadership and services to professional communities. The graduate curriculum focuses on preparing students to perform fundamental and development research. Courses and research are offered in a variety of sub-fields of computer science.


Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Master of Science in Computer Science
Master of Science in Computer Science (Major in Software Engineering)
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Major in Telecommunications)
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Major in Microelectronics)
Master of Science in Telecommunications Engineering

Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science
Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering (Major in Microelectronics)
Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering
Doctor of Philosophy in Telecommunications Engineering