Alex R. Piquero, PhD

Ashbel Smith Professor of Criminology
Associate Dean of Graduate Programs
Co-Editor - Journal of Quantitative Criminology

GR 3.104F
Curriculum Vitae

Alex R. Piquero is Ashbel Smith Professor in the Program in Criminology in the School of Economic, Political, and Policy Sciences at the University of Texas at Dallas, Adjunct Professor Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice, and Governance, Griffith University and Co-Editor of the Journal of Quantitative Criminology.

He has published over two-hundred peer-reviewed articles in the areas of criminal careers, criminological theory, and quantitative research methods, and has collaborated on several books including Key Issues in Criminal Careers Research: New Analyses from the Cambridge Study in Delinquent Development (Cambridge University Press, co-authored with David P. Farrington and Alfred Blumstein) and Handbook of Quantitative Criminology (Springer, co-edited by David Weisburd).

In addition to his membership on over a dozen editorial boards of journals in criminology and sociology, he has also served as Executive Counselor with the American Society of Criminology, Member of the National Academy of Sciences Panel Evaluating the National Institute of Justice, Member of the Racial Democracy, Crime and Justice Network at Ohio State University, and Member of the MacArthur Foundation's Research Network on Adolescent Development & Juvenile Justice.

Professor Piquero has given congressional testimony on evidence-based crime prevention practices in the area of early-family/parent training programs, and has provided counsel and support to several local, state, national, and international criminal justice agencies.

Professor Piquero is past recipient of the American Society of Criminology's Young Scholar and E-Mail Mentor of the Year Awards, Fellow of both the American Society of Criminology and the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, and has also received numerous teaching awards including the University of Florida's College of Arts & Sciences Teacher of the Year Award and the University of Maryland's Top Terp Teaching Award.