Menu

Hazlewood Exemption

The Hazlewood Exemption Act is a Texas benefit that provides qualified veterans, spouses and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption and required fee charges at Texas public institutions of higher education. The exemption does not include living expenses, books, supplies, travel, and non-tuition related fees. The information below lists the ways you may qualify for the Hazlewood Exemption along with the documentation you must submit in order to be considered for the benefit. For more information on the Hazlewood Act and eligibility requirements, please visit the Texas Veterans Commission website.

Applying for the exemption the first time

Veterans using the Exemption:

  • Texas Hazlewood Exemption Application
  • Certificate of Separation or Discharge (DD Form 214) – The copy you provide must be legible and contain place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, length of service, and dates of service.
  • Certificate of Eligibility for Federal GI Bill benefits (COE) – Required for veterans who served after September 11, 2001.
  • Registration with the Hazlewood Student Hours Online database – Once registered, log in and print the Account Overview page (even if hours show zero) for the school.

Legacy Act – Veterans Transferring Unused Hours to an Eligible Child:

  • Texas Hazlewood Exemption Application
  • Certificate of Separation or Discharge (DD Form 214) – The copy you provide must be legible and contain place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, length of service, and dates of service.
  • Certificate of Eligibility for Federal GI Bill benefits (COE) – Required for veterans who served after September 11, 2001.
  • Relationship Documentation – a copy of the student’s birth certificate, adoption papers, or a copy of the veteran’s most recent tax return showing the student claimed as a dependent.
  • Registration with the Hazlewood Student Hours Online database – Once registered, log in and print the Account Overview page (even if hours show zero) for the school.

Spouse/Child of 100% Disabled or Deceased Veteran:

  • Texas Hazlewood Exemption Application
  • Certificate of Separation or Discharge (DD Form 214) – The copy you provide must be legible and contain place of entry, home of record at the time of entry, character of service, length of service, and dates of service.
  • Documentation from DOD or VA of a veteran’s service-related death or 100 percent disability
  • Relationship Documentation – a copy of the student’s birth certificate, adoption papers, or a copy of the veteran’s most recent tax return showing the student claimed as a dependent.
  • Registration with the Hazlewood Student Hours Online database – Once registered, log in and print the Account Overview page (even if hours show zero) for the school.

Returning UT Dallas Students who wish to renew the Hazlewood Exemption

Applications must be resubmitted each academic year, beginning with the fall term.

Supporting documentation need not be resubmitted annually unless there has been a change in VA benefits status.