Skip to Main Content. Access key M.
Skip to Main Navigation. Access key N.

UT Dallas - Human Resources

Holidays

Related Information

To see a list of prior year holidays observed, please click here.

For more information about holidays, read the Holiday Policy PDF, ask your supervisor, or contact HR.

 

Employees who are appointed to work at least twenty (20) hours per week for a period of at least four and one-half (4 1/2) continuous months are eligible for holidays. Faculty must be appointed for at least fifty percent (50%) time for at least four and one-half (4 1/2) continuous months to be eligible, and students employed in positions that require student status as a condition of employment are not eligible for holidays.

The Texas Legislature sets the number of holidays each year, and allows universities the flexibility to set a holiday schedule compatible with the academic calendar. In years when the Legislature meets, the subsequent year's holiday schedule is usually available by early July. In non-legislative years, the subsequent year's holiday schedule is usually available by early May.

 

FY 2015 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date Day of Week

Labor Day September 1, 2014 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 27, 2014 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving November 28, 2014 Friday
Winter Holiday 1 December 22, 2014 Monday
Winter Holiday 2 December 23, 2014 Tuesday
Christmas Eve December 24, 2014 Wednesday
Christmas Day December 25, 2014 Thursday
Day After Christmas December 26, 2014 Friday
Winter Holiday 3 December 29, 2014 Monday
Winter Holiday 4 December 30, 2014 Tuesday
Winter Holiday 5 December 31, 2014 Wednesday
New Year’s Day January 1, 2015 Thursday
Winter Holiday 6 January 2, 2015 Friday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day January 19, 2015 Monday
Memorial Day May 25, 2015 Monday

Notes:

1. In lieu of Veteran’s Day (Tuesday, November 11, 2014)

2. In lieu of President’s Day (Monday, February 16, 2014)

3. In lieu of Texas Independence Day (Monday, March 2, 2015)

4. In lieu of San Jacinto Day (Tuesday, April 21, 2015)

5. In lieu of Emancipation Day (Friday, June 19, 2015)

6. In lieu of LBJ Day (Thursday, August 27, 2015)