Past Winner’s Ideas


First Place

Graduate Division Winner – Osteo Ink: Lucas Rodriguez, Jonathan Chari, Danieli Rodriguez
Undergraduate Division Winner – Rival Seek: Richard Brevig, Dominic Lakhotta, Bilal Ayub

Second Place

Graduate Division Winner – The People’s Creative: Nicole Mossman, Tricia Mahoney
Undergraduate Division Winner – Songbird Speech: Ashley Blaha, Virginia Land, Kaylynn Krieg, Jarathan Chari, Kathryn Ratliff

Third Place

Graduate Division Winners -Resvera Tech: Lucas Rodriguez, Preteek Diwan, Chiao Chang
Undergraduate Division Winners – Edge: Gloria Garza, Sky San Agustin, Siddarth Vyas, Brian Woods, Mauricio Soto, Spandana Mudhaliar, Samantha Jarrell, Jihee Ryu


First Place – $5,000 (UT Dallas Tech Commercialization Award)

Team Pad Putty: Zac Evans, Kathrine Hutson
Undergraduate Division Winner – Idea: Pad Putty is a silicone-based polymer to be inserted into the underside of horses’ hooves to protect the inner hoof and frog (the “shock absorber” of the hoof). Pad Putty will keep stones and other small objects out of the hoof, preventing bruising and discomfort, and decreasing the chance of lameness.

Team Rollout: Matthew Hinson, Alejandro Jacobo
Graduate Division Winner – Idea: Rollout is a computer hardware and software solution provider serving the architecture, engineering, construction (AEC) industry through a revolutionary, patent pending display device surrounded by cloud-based file sharing solutions designed to eliminate the need for AEC firms to print full-size and half-size plans on paper.

Second Place – $2,500 (Ericsson Innovation Award)

Team Horizon: Addison Kim, Zac Evans, Kelsey Drake, Michelle Abuda
Undergraduate Division Winner – Idea: An app and web service for high schools and universities students. This service will allow university and high school students to quickly and easily get a map or “Horizon” of their college degrees.

Team ThermOne: Zhaodi Liu, Tantan Liu, Chen Xia, Zhen Xu, Cheng Gu
Graduate Division Winner – Idea: Intuitive HVAC control system to revolutionize the HVAC industry. The system includes a wireless HVAC master thermostat, easy install wireless zoning vent dampers, multi-functional wireless ambient sensors, and Mobile & Web Application.

Third Place – $1,000 (Trailblazer Capital New Venture Award)

capital_new_venture_award_undergrad (1)Team Vertice: Mindy Tiu, Matthew Krenik

Undergraduate Division Winner – Idea: The Vertice Inc. is a technological start up focused on commercializing ultrasound positioning technologies with robotics applications.

capital_new_venture_awardTeam NFC Touch2Like: Timothy Jin, Leran Liu
Graduate Division Winner – Idea: NFC (Near Field Communication) allows for two-way communication between mobile phones and an object that has been embedded with NFC. Mobile users simply “tap” a touch point against an embedded object such as a poster with their NFC enabled device and content is loaded on their phone, or a credit card payment can be processed.

Campus Favorite Award

There was a video voting blitz for the Campus Favorite Business Idea. Students were able to vote and Team Horizon won!

Dallas Entrepreneur Network’s Best Green Idea

Team ThermOne won for having the business idea that focusing on innovative sustainability by reduced energy cost.


Undergraduate Division Winner: Janus (Petrus) Venter, Megan Tan and Mindy Tiu formed team You-Park. They took the first place Dallas Mavericks Entrepreneurship Award for their automated parking management and reservation software.

Graduate Division Winner: Matthew Hinson and Alejandro Jacobo of team BrainFund won the Dallas Mavericks Entrepreneurship Award in the graduate division for their online social platform to give college students the ability to raise money for their education by tapping into their existing social networks.


Undergraduate Division Winner: Raheel Ata, Vivek Raman and Nikhil Karnik formed the first place undergraduate team, BluMango. Their winning idea was a smartphone app that allows users to order food from casual dining restaurants in order to bypass or reduce restaurant wait times.

Graduate Division Winner: Photon, Inc., the first place graduate team comprised of Ben Wilson, Andrew Cyders and Vance Weintraub (pictured with IIE Executive Director Jackie Kimzey), won for their idea of solar panel-covered parking structures whose energy generation helps offset facility costs.