Comet Connection Now Spans Lone Star State

Transfer Student Partnerships Formed With All 50 Texas Community Colleges

April 25, 2008

Next to that lone star in the Texas skies is now a blazing comet.

Comet Connection, an innovative program designed to help transfer students lock in UT Dallas tuition at today’s rates, now has partnerships with all 50 public community colleges in Texas, as well as with the two private community colleges in the state.

Created to help students and their families budget for college, Comet Connection guarantees four years of fixed tuition and fees and other enrollment benefits at UT Dallas. 

“At a time of increasing tuition costs, students participating in the Comet Connection program can realize literally thousands of dollars in savings over their college careers,” said Curt Eley, vice president for Enrollment Management at the University.

To date, nearly 800 students at community colleges throughout the state have indicated they plan to attend the University by way of the program.

UT Dallas is among only a handful of schools to offer students guaranteed tuition.  Through Comet Connection, students who enroll at participating two-year schools in the 2008-09 academic year can lock in the same fall 2008 rate that the University will offer its incoming freshmen.

For example, a student who locks in the fall 2008 rate is eligible to pay no more than that amount through spring 2012. 

The guarantee also applies to graduate students, including those who complete undergraduate work at UT Dallas and continue in a graduate program.  That means a community college student who locks in the 2008 UT Dallas tuition rate can enroll in fall 2009, graduate in spring 2011 and use the remaining time in the four-year guarantee to enter graduate school at UT Dallas under the same 2008 graduate tuition rates.

Additionally, under the Guaranteed Tuition Plan, in-state students are not charged for credit hours in excess of 15 per semester.  For example, student could enjoy 18 hours of classes for the same investment as taking 15 hours of classes.

To capture the most UT Dallas tuition savings, students are encouraged to sign the Comet Connection agreement as early as their first semester at community college.  After completing 30 community college credit hours, they can apply for admission to UT Dallas.

Other benefits available to Comet Connection participants beyond fixed UT Dallas tuition and fees include:

  • Comet Connection student ID card.
  • Comet Connection student rate to athletic, cultural and social events on the UT Dallas campus.
  • Access to Pre-Health and Pre-Law Resource Center and sponsored activities.
  • Access to UT Dallas libraries through the TexShare program and use of the public terminal in the McDermott Library.
  • One-on-one access to UT Dallas academic advisers.
  • Access to Enrollment Services events.

For more information about Comet Connection, call 972-883-2270 or visit

Media contacts:  Jenni Huffenberger, UT Dallas, (972) 883-4431, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

The 50 Comet Connection partners are:
Alamo Community College District
Alvin Community College
Amarillo College
Angelina College
Austin Community College
Blinn College
Brazosport College
Central Texas College
Cisco Junior College
Clarendon College
Coastal Bend College
College of the Mainland
Collin County Community College District
Dallas County Community College District
Del Mar College
El Paso Community College
Frank Phillips College
Galveston College
Grayson County College
Hill College
Houston Community College System
Howard College
Kilgore College
Laredo Community College
Lee College
McLennan Community College
Midland College
Navarro College
North Central Texas College
North Harris Montgomery Community College District
NorthEast Texas Community College
Odessa College
Panola College
Paris Junior College
Ranger College
San Jacinto College
South Plains College
South Texas College
Southwest Texas Junior College
Tarrant County College District
Temple College
Texarkana College
Texas Southmost College
The Victoria College
Trinity Valley Community College
Tyler Junior College
Vernon College
Weatherford College
Western Texas College
Wharton County Junior College

The private two-year colleges participating in the program are Jacksonville College and Lon Morris College.

Share this page

Email this article.

March 19, 2018