School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Advising

Do I need to see an advisor?

You must meet with your academic advisor prior to registration if you fit in one of the following categories:

  • Freshmen
  • New transfer students
  • Non-Degree students
  • Students on probation
  • Students that changed their major the previous semester

If you are a freshman, you must attend Orientation where you will attend an academic information session, meet with an academic advisor and register for classes. Please visit the new Student Programs website for more information about Orientation.

Academic Advisors

These are non-faculty professional staff members. They are available to assist students in designing an appropriate course of study that will satisfy requirements for graduation.  Academic Advisors are knowledgeable about the technicalities of UT Dallas and program requirements.  All students seeking a Bachelor's degree should meet at least annually with their academic advisor to discuss degree requirements, course selection, time management, study skills, difficulties with coursework, career opportunities, and personal problems. View our availability.

Faculty Advisors

These are regular faculty members in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (NSM). Their role is to help students with career planning and to serve as academic mentors (they are often not, however, up on the technicalities of UT Dallas requirements). Students should partner with both the faculty advisor and the academic advisor. Below is a list of faculty advisors for each major in NSM.

Department Advisor

Biology /
Molecular Biology

Dennis L Miller
Associate Professor
FO 3.218
972-883-2539
dmiller@utdallas.edu

Biochemistry

Michael C Biewer
Associate Professor
BE 3.326
972-883-2811
biewerm@utdallas.edu

Chemistry

Geosciences

John Geissman
Professor
ROC 21
972-883-2406
geissman@utdallas.edu

Math (pure & applied)

Yan Cao
Assistant Professor
FO 2.402
972-883-6458
yan.cao@utdallas.edu

Statistics

Pankaj K Choudhary
Associate Professor
ECSN 3.908
972-883-4436
pankaj@utdallas.edu

Actuarial Sciences

Natalia Humphreys
Clinical Associate Professor
FO 2.402
972-883-6597
natalia.humphreys@utdallas.edu

Physics

John H Hoffman
Professor
ECSN 2.905
972-883-2846
jhoffman@utdallas.edu
  • Updated: February 10, 2014