The beautiful indoor environment at the Gaylord Texan


Important Dates

Poster Submit

Hotel Accomodations

Online Registration

Registration in Person



The United States (US) and Korea have had a substantial investment in nanotechnology over the past several years, and that is expected to continue into the future. In order to provide an opportunity for scientists and engineers in both countries to exchange information, especially in the fields of nanostructured materials, nanoelectronics, and nano-biotechnology, the US Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) the US Asian Office of Aerospace R&D (AOARD), the US Office of Naval Research Global (ONRG), the US Army International Technology Center Pacific, the Korea Nanotechnology Research Society and the National Research Foundation of Korea have sponsored a series of conferences.

For this year, a joint symposium of the 11th US-Korea Workshop on Nanostructured Materials, the 9th US-Korea Workshop on Nanoelectronics and the 2nd US-Korea Workshop on Nano-biotechnology and the 3rd Texas-Korea Nanotech Workshop will be held from May 1-4, 2012 in the Gaylord Texan resort in Grapevine, Texas in the United States. This three-and-a-half day event is open to public and will highlight the progress of collaborative research programs between US and Korean universities.

The 1st US-Korea Workshop on Nanostructured Materials was organized as a part of the US-Korea Symposium on Nanotechnology, which was held at the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies (KOFST) and Hanyang University in Seoul, Korea, on July 9-11, 2002. The Symposium was co-chaired by Dean Sung-Goon Kang at Hanyang Univ. and Dr. Byung-Lip Lee at AFOSR. The Workshop Panel Co-Chairs were Dr. Jo-Won Lee, in charge of the National Program on Tera-Level Nanodevices in Korea, and Prof. H. Thomas Hahn at the Univ. California at Los Angeles (UCLA). As a result of overwhelmingly positive feedback, Workshop continued with panel discussions alternating annually between the two countries. The subsequent Workshops were held at Caltech in Pasadena, CA (2003), Hanyang University (2004), the Korea Institute of Science & Technology in Seoul, Korea (2005), UCLA (2006), Seoul National University (2007), NanoMaterials for Defense Conference, Arlington, VA (2008), Hanyang University (2009) and US-Korea Conference on Science, Technology & Entrepreneurship, Seattle, WA (2010) and Gyeongju, Korea (2011). Starting in 2004, the US-Korea Workshop on Nanoelectronics and in 2010, the US-Korea Workshop on Nanobiotechnology have been held concurrently to expand the scope of technical information.

In 2007, The University of Texas at Dallas (UT Dallas) organized the 1st Texas-Korea Nanotech Workshop, sponsored by the Korea-US Science Cooperation Center (KUSCO), Samsung (Richardson, Texas), Chonnam National University, the Center for Nanostructured Materials Technology (CNMT), Hanyang University and the Korea Institute of Industrial Technology (KITECH). In 2009, the 2nd Workshop was held in Hanyang University as part of the Joint US-Korea Symposium. This year, the 3rd Texas-Korea workshop will again be part of the Joint Symposium with several key experts from Texas.

The program of 2012 US-Korea Joint Symposium of Nanotechnology will include topical sessions with the following themes:

Following the 2004 US-Korea Symposium, 17 exploratory research grants were awarded under the AFOSR Nanoscience Initiative organized by Dr. Jack Agee. Among them, four research grants were initiated with full matching support from CNMT directed by Dr. Sang-Hee Suh and funded by the 21st Century Frontier R&D Program of the Ministry of Science & Technology (MOST) in Korea. In 2007, a new initiative for research collaboration was proposed by Dr. Misoon Mah at AOARD, Dr. Byung-Lip Lee at AFOSR and Dr. Sang-Hee Suh at CNMT. Strong support from Dr. Jae-Yong Hur at MOST and Dr. Brendan Godfrey at AFOSR led to the inauguration of a new Initiative for Nano-Bio-Information Technology Symbiosis (NBIT) with 1:1 matching support from MOST (now renamed as Ministry of Education, Science & Technology) and AFOSR. As a result, a total of 10 research projects were established involving premier research universities in the US and Korea for Phase I (2007-2010). Three of the Phase I projects are continued with six new ones for a total of nine NBIT research projects in Phase II (2010-2013) of the international collaborative research program. All are on-going programs.