Section 51.207 of the Texas Education Code allows the University of Texas at Dallas to restrict parking on our campus to only those vehicles with a parking permit or pass from the University, and to issue citations to vehicles that do not display a current permit or pass. It also requires UT Dallas to enforce Texas vehicle inspection laws.
|Option||Cost||Available Parking Spaces|
|FY2015 - FY2016|
|*||Yearly parking permits are valid from the beginning of September of one year to end of August of the following year.|
|**||For the guest of a department.|
$117 / Year *
$78 / Spring Semester
$204 / Year *
$136 / Spring Semester
Gold and Green parking
Evening Orange Permit
$264 / Year *
$176 / Spring Semester
Gold and Green parking; plus Orange parking after 5:00 p.m.
$311 / Year *
$207 / Spring Semester
Orange, Gold, and Green parking
$517 / Year *
$345 / Spring Semester
Purple, Orange, Gold, and Green parking
|University Village Apartments Permit||
$98 / Year *
$65 / Spring Semester
University Commons Residence Halls Permit
$98 / Year *
$65 / Spring Semester
$117 / Year *
$78 / Spring Semester
$2 First Hour
+$1 / Additional Hour
Pay-by-Space metered parking
|Department Coupon Code||Free **||
Pay-by-Space metered parking
|Visitor Pass (Multiple Types)||Free||
Varies by type.
University Village Apartments parking
— or —
University Commons Residence Halls parking
General Parking Permit Information
Buying a Permit
Parking permits are available to all current UT Dallas students, faculty, and staff. You can buy a permit in-person from the Parking Office (PS3 1.200) or the Bursar Office (SSB 2.300,) or you can buy your permit online and have it mailed directly to you. If you buy online, please print out your receipt and use it as a temporary 30-day parking pass. Please note, the Parking Office accepts credit cards but not cash nor checks at this time; The Bursar Office accepts additional forms of payment.
Students can purchase Evening Orange, Gold, or Green parking permits. Students living in University Housing can purchase either University Village Apartments or University Commons Residence Halls parking permits, depending on where they live. Faculty and staff can purchase Purple, Orange, Evening Orange, Gold, or Green parking permits. Handicap parking permits are also available (see below.)
Students have from the first day of class until Census Day to buy a parking permit. Your parking permit is registered to you, but you can transfer it among any vehicles that you own. If your permit is lost, you will need to buy a new one at the current cost; If your permit is stolen, we will replace it once we get a copy of your sworn police statement regarding the theft.
Students, faculty, and staff may park in Green parking without a permit up until Census Day; All other parking areas will be enforced.
If you are a student and you return your parking permit on or before Fall or Spring Census Day, you are eligible for a prorated refund. If you are a faculty/staff member, you may inquire about your eligibility for a prorated refund when you exit UT Dallas.
When you purchase a Purple, Orange, Evening Orange, Gold, or Green parking permit for your car, you can request one additional free Open-Air Vehicle or Motorcycle permit of the same type.
You can upgrade your parking permit by turning in your permit in person to the Bursar Office (SSB 2.300) and paying the price difference between the one you are returning and the upgraded permit that you want to buy.
Displaying Your Permit
- Cars: Lower corner of the driver’s side of the windshield.
- Open-Air Vehicles: Back of the center rearview mirror.
- Motorcycles: Upper right front fork.
Parking regulations are continuously enforced for:
- Fire lanes.
- Loading docks.
- Service zones.
- Grass and all other areas where parking is prohibited.
- Purple parking.
- Orange parking.
- Evening Orange parking.
- Handicap parking.
- Pay-by-Space metered parking.
Parking regulations are enforced Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., and Saturday from 7:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., for Gold parking.
Parking regulations are enforced Monday-Friday 7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. for Green parking.
Parking regulations are enforced Monday-Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., and Friday from 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., for University Village Apartments and University Commons Residence Halls parking.
Violating parking regulations, including having a suspended or expired parking permit, may result in a citation.
Sorry, but no overnight campus parking is allowed without prior authorization from both Parking & Transportation and the University Police Department.
To use one of the Handicap parking spaces on campus, you must already own a State of Texas handicap license plate/hangtag/placard, and you must purchase a UT Dallas handicap permit. When purchasing your permit:
- If you use a hangtag/placard, please present a copy of TxDMV Form VTR-214 (PDF) in-person or via email if you purchase your permit online. This is the same form you would have filed with the County Tax Assessor-Collector.
- If you use a license plate, including a special one such as a Disabled Veterans plate or a Purple Heart plate, please present a copy of the tax receipt for your plate in-person or via email if you purchase your permit online.
If handicap spaces are not available, anyone with a Disabled Veterans plate, a Purple Heart plate, or a state-issued handicap plate/hangtag/placard, who is registered with the University (permit or visitor pass,) may park in any available non-reserved parking space or metered parking space at no additional cost.
Decorated Veteran Parking
If your vehicle has been issued a specialty license plate for your extraordinary military service, once you register for parking with the University (permit or visitor pass) and contact the Parking Office (PS3 1.200) you will be exempt from paying for that parking fee. Please note, this exemption only applies when you are driving the vehicle. The Texas Transportation Code §504.315 and §504.316 identifies these specialty license plates as:
- Disabled Veteran
- Congressional Medal of Honor
- Former Prisoner of War
- Pearl Harbor Survivor
- Purple Heart Recipient
- Legion of Valor (Air Force Cross, Distinguished Service Cross, Army Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross or Medal of Honor)
- Legion of Merit
There are over 300 Pay-by-Space cash-less metered parking spaces on campus. To use one of these spaces, just remember your parking space number or stall number, go up to the nearest payment kiosk (“LUKE Machine”), tap any key to wake it up, then follow its instructions. You have three ways to pay:
- Swipe your credit card or debit card through the kiosk.
- Enter a Department Coupon Code.
- If you already have an account with the PayByPhone service, you can pay through their web site; through their Android™, BlackBerry™, or iPhone® app; or by calling 888.450.7275. Their normal services fees will apply.
Please remember to keep your receipt; It shows the time when your meter expires. If your time has not yet expired, and you paid via credit/debit card or Department Coupon Code, you can return to the kiosk and add more time. If you used PayByPhone, you can add more time remotely, and even set up the service to send you an SMS five minutes before your time expires.
Download Step-by-Step Instructions & FAQ (PDF, 144KB)
Department Coupon Code
- A single code.
- A new code every month, which expires at the end of each month.
- A code just for a special event, which lasts only for the duration of the event, or only for a limited number of transactions.
Once a month, we’ll send you a report of how often your code was used, and charge your department. Charges go directly to your cost center.
If you are a visitor to our campus, you can get a one-day parking pass from the Visitor Center or Parking Office when you bring in a photo ID. This type of pass is only good for the day that it’s been issued, will be issued to you no more than twice in the same week, and will allow you to park in Green parking spaces. For more frequent visits, please take advantage of our convenient Pay-by-Space parking, or contact the Parking Office for the latest prices on weekly parking passes.
If you own a current parking permit for UT Arlington or UT Southwestern Medical Center students, faculty, or staff, please bring in your receipt for that permit to the Parking Office (PS3 1.200) or the Bursar Office (SSB 2.300) and we’ll give you a permit that will allow you to park in Green parking spaces.
If you are visiting as the guest of a student residing in the University Village Apartments, you can request a parking pass from their leasing office or from the Parking Office. This type of pass can be issued to last for more than one day, and will allow you to park in University Village Apartments parking spaces.
Likewise, if you are visiting as the guest of a student residing in the University Commons Residence Halls, you can request a multi-day parking pass from their leasing office or the Parking Office, which will allow you to park in University Commons Residence Halls parking spaces.
You can pay citations online, or in-person at the Parking Office (PS3 1.200) or Bursar Office (SSB 2.300.) Please note, the Parking Office accepts credit cards but not cash nor checks at this time; The Bursar Office accepts additional forms of payment.
If you receive a citation, you will have 14 days to pay it. After 14 days, a $10 penalty will be added, and another $10 penalty will be added every month until it gets paid. Students with unpaid citations will not be able to register for classes and their grade records will not be released. Faculty and staff with unpaid citations will have their records marked, will have their parking permit revoked, and any renumerations owed them when they separate from the University will be blocked.
When you collect three or more unpaid citations, a warning notice will be placed on your vehicle. If you still have unpaid citations on the fourth business day after you received your notice, your vehicle may be impounded if it’s parked on campus. You will not be able to get it back until all your citations are cleared and you pay the impound fee. Vehicles with multiple citations may be subject to an impoundment warning, or additional actions.
Students, faculty, and staff can appeal citations online.
You have 14 days to appeal a citation after you receive it. If your appeal is rejected, your will then have 14 days to pay it.