State & University Penalties

UT Dallas takes seriously its mission to educate students, and alcohol and other drug education is our preferred method by which to address alcohol- and drug-related issues.

UT Dallas Sanctions for Alcohol and Drug Violations

One educational goal is to inform students about alcohol- and drug-related policies and laws and the consequences of violating them. Violations of the code of conduct can result in sanctions ranging from a written warning to expulsion from the university.  Severity of the offense, impact to the campus community and other factors are considering in determining appropriate sanctions. The University reserves the right to impose any other sanctions as deemed appropriate.

  Alcohol Drugs
First Offense MIP/MIC: admonition (written reprimand)
Other: warning probation*
Disciplinary probation and suspension of rights and privileges*, or Suspension (must see Dean of Students before being readmitted) or Expulsion
Second Offense Disciplinary probation Suspension of rights and privileges as appropriate Suspension or Expulsion
Third Offense Suspension or Expulsion Expulsion

*Warning and disciplinary probation may include conditions related to the offense, such as counseling, alcohol and drug education, unpaid work assignments, etc.

Suspension of rights and privileges is based upon severity of the infraction as determined by the hearing officer and may include, but is not limited to, prohibition from participation in extracurricular activities, living in campus housing, working on campus, etc.

See Title V, Chapter 49, Sections 49.26 for complete nature of disciplinary penalties and Subchapter F for student standards of conduct.

Responsible Actions Program

Texas Law

These are some of the most common law violations and punishments. This list is by no means the only laws that you should concern yourself with regarding alcohol.

Penalties for Providing Alcohol to a Minor

Adults and minors who give alcohol to a minor face a stiff penalty. The punishment for making alcoholic beverages available to a minor is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $4000, confinement in jail for up to a year, or both. Additionally, as of September 1, 2005, the violator will have his or her driver’s licence automatically suspended for 180 days upon conviction.

Also, as of September 1, 2005, persons 21 or older (other than the parent or guardian) can be held liable for damages caused by intoxication of a minor under 18 if the adult knowingly provided alcoholic beverages to a minor or knowingly allowed the minor to be served or provided alcoholic beverages on the premises owned or leased by the adult.

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

The legal limit for intoxication in Texas is .08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, drivers can be stopped and cited for impaired driving due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Texas also has a zero tolerance law. For anyone under 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol.

What happens if you're stopped? If a law enforcement officer asks you to take a blood or breath test to measure how much alcohol is in your system, you should comply. If you refuse, you are subject to an automatic 180-day driver’s license suspension. Punishment for DWI varies depending on the number of times you've been convicted.

First Offense
  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension: 90 days to 1 year
Second Offense
  • Up to a $4,000 fine
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years
Third Offense
  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • 2 to 10 years in penitentiary
  • Driver’s license suspension: 180 days to 2 years

Texas Laws on Underage Drinking

Consumption While Driving

It is illegal for a minor to drive while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor's system

First Offense
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0-$500
  • Alcohol awareness course
  • 20-40 hours community service
  • 60 days driver's license suspension
  • 30 days ineligible for occupational license
Second Offense
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0-$500
  • Alcohol awareness course
  • 40-60 hours community service
  • 120 days driver's license suspension
  • 90 days ineligible for occupational license
Third Offense
(Under 17)
  • 180 days driver's license suspension
  • Ineligible for occupational license
  • Juvenile court-delinquent conduct; or adult criminal court
Third Offense
(17 or Over)
  • Class B misdemeanor: $500-$2,000 and/or
  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days
  • 180 days driver's license suspension
  • Ineligible for occupational license

Purchase, Attempt to Purchase, Possession, Consumption, Misrepresentation of Age, Public Intoxication by Minor

First Offense
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0-$500
  • Alcohol awareness course
  • 8-12 hours community service
  • 30 days driver's license suspension or denial
Second Offense
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0-$500
  • Possible awareness course
  • 20-40 hours community service
  • 90 days driver's license suspension or denial
Third Offense
(Under 17)
  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial
  • Juvenile court-child in need of supervision or
  • Criminal court-adjudicated as an adult
Third Offense
(17 or Over)
  • Class B misdemeanor: $250-$2,000 fine and/or
  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days
  • Possible alcohol awareness course
  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial