Leadership Seminars

During the 2003-2004 academic year, the members of the state legislature participating in the Leadership series were Senator Eliot Shapleigh, Speaker Tom Craddick, Representative Fred Hill of Richardson, Representative Helen Giddings of Desoto, Representative Lois Kolkhorst of Brenham, Representative Terri Hodge of Dallas, and Representative Jodie Laubenberg of Rockwall.

During the 2002-2003 academic year, students in the Leadership seminar were given the opportunity to visit with numerous state leaders who graciously offered their thoughts on leadership and answered the students’ questions about the topic. These speakers represented different political parties and regions of the state and thus provided a well-rounded experience for our students. The Texas House members who participated in the Leadership lectures were Rene Oliveira of Brownsville, Kent Grusendorf of Arlington, Brian McCall of Plano, Pete Gallego of Alpine, and Fred Hill of Richardson. The Texas Senators delivering lectures were Robert Duncan of Lubbock and Jeff Wentworth of San Antonio. Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Tom Phillips also took the time to deliver a talk on leadership from a judicial perspective.

Several state officials took the time to visit with our leadership students more informally and the exchanges between leader and student were equally valuable. Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff of Mount Pleasant, Senator Teel Bivins of Amarillo, Representative Helen Giddings of Desoto and Justice Tom James of Dallas all took part in these informal exchanges of ideas.

We are currently in the process of lining up next year’s speakers and will post that information here when the plans are finalized.

GOVT 4368 Leadership

Senator Eliot Shapleigh


Representative Jodie Laubenberg

Chief Justice Tom Phillips


Lieutenant Governor Bill Ratliff

Representative Pete Gallego


Representative Kent Grusendorf

More Pictures


Back to Home Page     UTD Home Page