Principal Investigator


Kenneth Hoyt, PhD, MBA, FAIUM

Kenneth Hoyt attended Drexel University where he received a BS degree in Electrical Engineering (2001), MS degree in Biomedical Engineering (2004), and then a PhD degree in Biomedical Engineering (2005). Following a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Rochester, he moved to the Department of Radiology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) in 2008 where he was an Associate Professor until 2015. During his tenure in Birmingham, Dr. Hoyt also obtained an MBA degree from the UAB School of Business (2011). In 2015, Dr. Hoyt relocated to Texas and joined the faculty in the Department of Bioengineering at the University of Texas at Dallas where he is now Associate Professor. Dr. Hoyt has additional laboratory space at the nearby University of Texas Southwestern Medical School. Dr. Hoyt is an elected member of the Technical Standards Committee of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) and Technical Committee member of the Quantitative Imaging Biomarkers Alliance of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA).

Laboratory Staff

Fangyuan Xiong, MD
Research Associate

Mawia Khairalseed, PhD
Research Associate

Postdoctoral Fellows

Debabrata Ghosh, PhD

Graduate Students

Katherine Brown, MS, Department of Bioengineering
Ipek Ozdemir, MS, Department of Bioengineering
Haowei Tai, MS, Department of Bioengineering
Swapnil Dolui, BS, Department of Electrical Engineering
Deandra Dsouza, BS, Department of Bioengineering
Hassan Jahanandish, BS, Department of Bioengineering
Kulsoom Javed, BS/MD, Department of Bioengineering
Saurabh Raut, BS, Department of Bioengineering
Esref Selvi, BS, Department of Bioengineering
Sitara Naga Somu, BS, Department of Electrical Engineering
Sai Anitha Vedantam, BS, Department of Electrical Engineering

Undergraduate Students

Tina Darabadey, Department of Bioengineering
Kelvin Graham, Department of Bioengineering
Abhishek Srinivas, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Sarah Tempelmeyer, Department of Bioengineering