Andrian (Andi) Marcus, Ph.D.

Office Hours

Spring 2017
Tue & Thu 5:00 - 5:00 pm
ECSS 4.406

Latest News

Most Influential Paper Award from ICPC 2007 at ICPC 2017 with Denys Poshyvanyk

Technical Briefing on "Automatic Software Summarization" with Laura Moreno at ICSE 2017

Most Influential Paper Award from ICSM 2006 at ICSME 2016 with Denys Poshyvanyk

more ...


FSE 2017
WDSD 2017
SANER 2017
ICPC 2017
MSR 2017
ICSE 2017
ASE 2017
ICSME 2017


Department of Computer Science
Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science
The University of Texas at Dallas
800 W. Campbell Road; MS EC31
Richardson, TX 75080 U.S.A.
Office: ECSS 4.406
Phone: 972-883-4246
Fax: 972-883-2399
E-mail: amarcusatutdallasdotedu

Brief Bio

Andrian Marcus is Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at The University of Texas at Dallas. Between 2003-2014 he was a faculty member in the Department of Computer Science at Wayne State University (Detroit, MI).

He obtained his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Kent State University, with Jonathan Maletic as his advisor. He has prior degrees from The University of Memphis (Memphis, TN) and Babes-Bolyai University (Cluj-Napoca, Romania).

His current research interests are in software engineering, with focus on software evolution and program comprehension. He is best known for his work on using information retrieval and text mining techniques for software analysis to support comprehension during software evolution.

He received several Best Paper Awards and Most Influential Paper Awards, and his research was funded by NSF, NIH, IBM, etc. He is also a former junior Fulbright Scholar (1997-98).

He served on the Steering Committee of the IEEE International Conference on Software Maintenance and Evolution (ICSME) between 2005-2008 and 2011-2014, and on the Steering Committee IEEE International Workshop on Visualizing Software for Understanding and Analysis (VISSOFT) between 2005-2009. He was the General Chair and the Program Co-chair of ICSME in 2011 and 2010, respectively.

He currently serves on the editorial board of the IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, the Empirical Software Engineering Journal (Springer), and the Journal of Software: Evolution and Process (John Wiley and Sons).