UT Dallas Logo - Color

Undergraduate Research Expo
In Computer Science
April 14, 2017

Note the Date Change to Friday, April 14.  You are cordially invited to attend the International Workshop on Interactive and Spatial Computing, also at UTD, starting the evening of April 13.  See schedule below.

The Computer Science Department at The University of Texas at Dallas is pleased to announce its third annual Undergraduate Research Expo, to be held April 15, 2017 in the Engineering and Computer Science-South Building on the UTD campus in Richardson, Texas. Register for the conference and submit papers here.  If you have questions or need further information, please contact John Cole.  You can look at the poster announcing the conference here.

The expo will be in the JSOM (Jindal School of Management) building, room 12.202. Parking is availble nearby if you are driving.  Please park in the green spaces.  Please refer to the Campus Map  for the location of the building.  You can click on the building for an enlarged view.  People will be available just inside the main entrance to direct you to the proper room. 

Please encourage your undergraduate students to participate in the research expo. Cash prizes up to $5000 will be awarded. Travel expense reimbursement for selected presentations is available. Reimbursement of additional expenses will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Submissions from minorities and women are strongly encouraged.

Topics include:

Further information can be found on this poster.

Key Dates

March 24, 2017 Last date to submit your proposal
March 29, 2017 Notification of acceptance or rejection
April 14, 2017 Expo! 

Expo Schedule

April 13, 6:00 PM Banquet and talks for the International Workshop on Interactive and Spatial Computing
8:00 AM April 15 Registration begins.
8:30 AM Welcome and Continental breakfast
9:00 to 12:30 IWISC presentations
12:30 to 2:00 Lunch and presentations on the UTD PhD program in Computer Science
2:00 to 3:30 Posters and Papers
3:45 to 4:15 Break
4:15 to 4:45 Awarding of prizes and concluding remarks
4:45 CSREx ends

Schedule of Presentations

2:00 PM
Sergio Munoz Sierra and Omar Badreddin
Crowdsourcing Drivers’ Interactions with Road Topology
2:15 Brett Pelkey, Yifan Hao and Huiping Cao
Predicting Energy Consumption of Campus Buildings
Samuel Benton
The Introduction of a Safety-based State Machine for Improved System Safety Analysis
Josue Caraballo
3:00 Mavis Francia
Development of a Persian News Corpus and Natural Language Tool Kit
3:15 Timothy Hewitt
Blank Space: Co-implication and its uses in Algebraic Type Theory
3:30 to 3:45 Isaac Urcuyo and Jacob Urcuyo
Hardware Backdoors in IoT Devices Poster

Undergraduate Research Expo Committtee

Prof. John Cole (Chairman)
Dr. Gopal Gupta (CS Department Head)
Dr. Ovidiu Daescu
Dr. Zygmunt Haas
Prof. Shyam Karrah
Dr. Andrian Marcus
Dr. Ryan McMahan
Dr. Balakrishnan Prabhakaran
Dr. Benjamin Raichel