Home               Research               Teaching             Publications               Awards

NOTE: This webpage is no longer updated. Please visit my laboratory website for updates.


  • National Robotics Initiative, K. Hamed (SDSU PI) and R. Gregg (UTD PI)
    National Science Foundation: Division of Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI)
    NRI: Decentralized Feedback Control Design for Cooperative Robotic Walking with Application to Powered Prosthetic Legs
    09/01/2016 - 08/31/2019, $612,213 (total costs)

  • NIH Director's New Innovator Award (DP2HD080349-01), R. Gregg (PI)
    National Institutes of Health: Office of the Director and National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
    Phase-Based Control of Locomotion for High-Performance Prostheses and Orthoses
    09/30/2013 - 08/31/2018, $2,295,000 (total costs)

  • Career Award at the Scientific Interface, R. Gregg (PI)
    Burroughs Wellcome Fund
    From Machine to Biomimetic Control in Robot-Assisted Walking
    07/01/2012 - 06/30/2018, $500,000 (direct costs)

Honors and Awards

  • Best Student Paper Award (Advisor), 2015 IEEE Conference on Decision & Control (paper)

  • CLAWAR Association Best Technical Paper Award, 2011, International Conference on Climbing and Walking Robots, Paris, France

  • Engineering into Medicine Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2010, Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (NUCATS)

  • O Hugo Schuck Award (Best Theory Paper), 2009, IFAC American Automatic Control Council, for “Reduction-based Control with Application to Three-Dimensional Bipedal Walking Robots” at 2008 American Control Conference, Seattle, WA

  • Best Student Paper Award, 2008 American Control Conference (paper, slides)

  • Best Presentation in Session Award, 2008 American Control Conference (paper, slides)

  • Warren Dere Design Award, 2007, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley (for most outstanding accomplishment in engineering design)

  • First Place, 2006 NATCAR Intercollegiate Competition, University of California, Davis (for fastest time-trial among autonomous mechatronic 1/10-scale racing vehicles; movie)

  • Arthur M. Hopkin Award, 2006, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley (for seriousness of purpose and high academic achievement)

  • Christie Senior Research Award, 2006, California Alumni Association, University of California, Berkeley (for excellence in creative innovation)

© 2009 Robert D. Gregg, IV