Ackerman Center Faculty in the Spotlight

Dr. Zsuzsanna Ozsváth’s memoir, When the Danube Ran Red, is now available on Kindle.

Dr. Patterson has a new book,  The Holocaust and the Nonrepresentable, that will be released in June 2018. More information can be found on the publisher’s website.

Dr. Roemer presented a lecture at the University of Southampton on “Beyond God: Nazi Germany in 1945” to kick off the Parkes Institute 2017/18 Seminar Program.

Students in the Spotlight

Ph.D. Candidate and former Ackerman Center research assistant Mary Catherine Mueller has accepted the position of full-time Lecturer with the English Department at Southern Methodist University, where she will be teaching Discernment and Discourse and Holocaust Literature beginning the Fall 2017 semester.

Holocaust Studies Resource Guide

The UT Dallas McDermott Library has created a subject guide that is available online to assist students and other users in conducting research using the resources available through the library.

The guide is available online.

Calls for Applications/Papers

The Annual Scholars’ Conference
March 3-5, 2017 – UT Dallas 

The Ackerman Center invites you to be a part of this important conference and join us as we welcome Holocaust scholars from across the globe to UT Dallas.

More information, including the Call for Papers, can be found on the Conference Website.
Proposal Deadline is November 15, 2017.

RAW Graduate Conference 
February 24, 2018 – UT Dallas 

The Arts and Humanities Graduate Student Association is welcoming applications to present at the 2018 RAW conference.

More information can be found in the Call for Papers.
Proposal deadline is December 1, 2017.

Sharon Abramson Research Grant

The Holocaust Educational Foundation of Northwestern University (HEF) is pleased to announce the 2018 Sharon Abramson Research Grant competition.  HEF will award five grants of up to $4,000 to support research related to the Holocaust of European Jewry. Graduate students in PhD programs who have completed their qualifying exams and university/college faculty at all levels whose research centers on the Holocaust are eligible for this grant. We encourage applications in all disciplines. Grants are for support of activities to be conducted between June 2018 and June 2019.

The application can be found online.
Application deadline is February 1, 2018.

ISGAP-Oxford Summer Institute for Curriculum Development in Critical Antisemitism Studies
July 29 – August 11, 2018 – St. John’s College, in Oxford, United Kingdom 

The ISGAP-Oxford Summer Institute is seeking scholars-in-residence for an intensive two-week workshop-based curriculum development program in interdisciplinary critical contemporary antisemitism studies. The program is intended primarily for professors with full-time college or university positions, though exceptional doctoral and post-doctoral students may also be considered.

More information can be found online.
The application deadline is February 23, 2018.

The US Holocaust Memorial Museum 2018–2019 Fellowship Competition

The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies awards fellowships on a competitive basis to support significant research and writing about the Holocaust. They welcome proposals from domestic and international scholars in all academic disciplines, including but not limited to: anthropology, archaeology, art history, geography, film studies, German studies, history, Jewish studies, law, literature, material culture, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, comparative genocide studies, and others.

More information can be found online.
Proposal deadline is November 15, 2017.

William J. Lowenberg Memorial Fellowship on America, the Holocaust, and the Jews

This fellowship is part of the US Holocaust Memorial Museum’s initiative on Americans and the Holocaust, and will support an individual’s research project on American connections to the persecution, liberation, or displacement of the Jews before, during or after the Nazi occupation of Europe.

For further details about this fellowship opportunity, please direct inquiries to Jo-Ellyn Decker , the Program Manager of the Visiting Scholar Programs at USHMM.
Proposal deadline is November 15, 2017.

 Auschwitz Jewish Center Fellows

The Auschwitz Jewish Center Fellows Program is a three week study trip for students who are matriculated in graduate programs or are completing undergraduate degrees in 2018 in Holocaust studies and related fields. The Fellowship will offer up to four Faculty Fellowships in 2018. These Fellowships will be for faculty who teach the Holocaust in any discipline but have not made its history their primary area of study. More information can be found on their website.

The application for the 2017 AJC Fellows Program is available online.
Application deadline is January 14, 2018.

An Evening With Zsuzsi

The Ackerman Center hosted an event on Sunday, April 17, 2016 at UT Dallas to honor Professor Zsuzsanna Ozsváth and benefit the newly established Istvan and Zsuzsanna Ozsváth Research Fund to support graduate student research in Holocaust Studies. Please visit our Facebook page to see photographs from the Evening

More information about the event, including how to donate to the Ozsváth Research Fund, can be found on the event’s webpage.