Whither Art History in Dallas? The Arts District or the University of Texas at Dallas Campus?

Wednesday, April 12, 2017, 5:00 p.m.
Venue: Nasher Sculpture Center's Lecture Hall
Season: 2016-2017

Join us for a public forum at the Nasher Sculpture Center. The introduction and welcome will be given by Jeremy Strick, Director of the Nasher Sculpture Center followed by a discussion with Peter Walker, Landscape Architect and the First recipient of the Richard Brettell Award in the Arts at UT Dallas; Gary Cunningham, Founder and President of Cunningham Architects; and Dr. Richard Brettell, the Margaret M. McDermott Distinguished Chair and the Founding Director of the Edith O’Donnell Institute of Art History. The Richard Brettell Award in the Arts at UT Dallas, established in 2016 with an endowment from Mrs. Eugene McDermott, recognizes the essential and fundamental role in the arts in the life of the university. The award honors an artist working in or between any of the broad spectrum of artistic endeavors, including the visual arts, music, literature, performance, and architecture/design. The awardee will be officially announced in the Dallas Morning News on April 9. Learn more about the Brettell Award here. Please RSVP to Pierrette Lacour [email protected]
For more information contact: