School of Arts and Humanities News

Ackerman Center’s Friends Lend a Hand

Generous support from several donors recently helped furnish the new home of the Ackerman Center for Holocaust Studies. The new center contains a media room, a secondary site for the Arnold A. Jaffe Holocaust Library Collection and a computer lab—all of which make studying one of the most important and tragic periods in history more accessible.

Funds raised by the Ackerman Center’s Advisory Council furnished the offices in the Erik Jonsson Building with everything from video screens and artwork to couches and conference tables.

“Our advocates have equipped us with resources and tools so that we can foster learning, and make a significant impact on our students and the field of Holocaust Studies,” said Dr. Zsuzsanna Ozsváth, who holds the Leah and Paul Lewis Chair in Holocaust Studies, which was established by Mimi Lewis Barnett and Mitchell Barnett in honor of Mimi’s parents.

Several hundred supporters attended the center’s recent debut of its facility. The new space marks the first time that all of the center’s professors and staff will be housed under one roof.

“The Ackerman Center is important because it provides a welcoming space for students of all disciplines and all faiths to study, reflect and work together for a brighter future for all,” said Steve Leonard BA’10, who is currently pursuing his teacher certification through the UT Dallas Teacher Development Center.

For the hundreds of students enrolled in Holocaust and Jewish studies classes, the new offices mean they have a place to study alongside their professors. “The suite provides us with the opportunity to assist students with their research,” said Dr. Debbie Pfister, center director. “It’s an opportunity to provide hands-on learning.”

The Ackerman Center was created through a gift from the Edward and Wilhelmina Ackerman Foundation. Center highlights include the Selwin Belofsky Fellowship; the Burton C. Einspruch Holocaust Lecture Series; the Hillel Feinberg Chair in Holocaust Studies; the Jaffe Book Collection; the Leah and Paul Lewis Chair in Holocaust Studies; and the Stan and Barbara Rabin Professorship in Holocaust Studies. For more information, visit the center’s website.

Full story available from the UT Dallas News Center.