School of Arts and Humanities News

Winner of Annual Sherry Clarkson Prize Announced: Yejing Wu

Yeijing Wu

Yejing Wu

The winner of the Sherry Clarkson Award for best conference paper or presentation at the RAW Symposium this year is Yejing Wu.  Her paper, “Double Take: Truman Capote and the Tradition of the Grotesque Comic in Other Voices, Other Rooms,” was described as a “well-written piece of scholarship [that] makes a real contribution and shows considerable potential for future publication.”

The Sherry Clarkson Award recognizes the best conference paper at the RAW Symposium. The prize is named in honor of Ms. Sherry Clarkson, who served for many years as the Graduate Coordinator in the School of Arts and Humanities. The pool of submissions was quite strong, which shows the quality of this year’s presentations.



Previous winners include:

2017:  Kristina Kirk for her young-adult novel Blackbird Fly

2016: Jennifer Kraemer for her paper “Echoes of Americana and Literary Pastiche in Patrick McHale’s ‘Over the Garden Wall.’”

2015: Tim Gingrich for his paper “How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb: Fission and Fallout in The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle.”

2014: Renea McKenzie for her paper “Awakening Things Clothing and Thing Theory in Kate Chopin’s The Awakening.”

2013: Carroll Clayton Savant for his paper “‘Whistle While you Work’: The Construction of the Myth of Englishness through the Working Soundscapes in George Eliot’s Adam Bede.”

2012: Terje Saar-Hambazaza for her paper “’You’re Scared of Me Just Because I’m Myself’: Anzia Yezierska and the Reconciling of Multiple Identities.” Honorable Mention was awarded to Brad Hennigan for his paper “Toward a Methodology for Writing Dynamically Immersive Branching Dialogue in Digital Games and Simulations.”