In this issue
Front Page
Featured Stories
Director's Corner
Alumni Spotlight
Class Notes
Event Calendar
Campus News
Sports Report
Archived Issues
Useful Links
Fine Arts Events
Career Center
UTD Mercury
Contact Info
Office of Development
and Alumni Relations
[email protected]
The 2009 Alumni Gala, A Celebration of UT Dallas

On Saturday, March 28, 2009 the Student Union Galaxy Rooms were beautifully transformed for the 2009 Alumni Gala Awards. The Gala is held each year to honor the recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award and Green and Orange Award.

Each year, members of the UT Dallas community are asked to nominate noteworthy graduates for the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Green and Orange Awards. The nominees are recognized for their personal and professional achievements and for their commitment to the university.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed on alumni and is given to individuals who are distinguished in their chosen profession or life's work and who demonstrate pride in the university. The Green and Orange award honors UT Dallas alumni who have provided exceptional service to the university.

This year UT Dallas was honored to recognize the following exceptional alumni for their outstanding support of the university:

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
Mr. David Holmberg ‘00
The Honorable Jerry Madden ‘78
Dr. Christopher Progler ‘97
Dr. Aziz Sancar ‘77
Dr. Cynthia Sherry ‘78

Green and Orange Award Recipients
Dr. James R. Hellums ‘00
Mr. Robert E. Hewlett, Jr. ‘82

The award program began with President David E. Daniel welcoming the guests, an explanation of the ongoing campus enhancements, and a update on the university’s strategic goals. Dr. Daniel then turned the evening over to Dr. Aaron Conley, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations, who officially kicked-off the awards portion of the evening. Dr. Conley spoke briefly about the strength of the UT Dallas alumni network and upcoming regional events for the Office of Development and Alumni Relations.

The award ceremony was punctuated with much laughter, many moments of reminiscing and the sharing of poignant memories by the award recipients. Be sure to join us next year at the 2010 Alumni Gala awards as we continue to honor and celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our fellow UT Dallas alumni.

Back to the Front Page
Erin Dougherty, MPA, '03 '07
Director of Alumni Relations
and Annual Giving
Debbie Hsu, BS '01
Development Alumni Associate
Lindsey Bacon
Communications Coordinator
Tina Ly '10
Web Designer
If you do not wish to receive future issues of the Alumni Link, please unsubscribe by sending an email to
[email protected] with "unsubscribe" in the subject line. Removal could take up to 10 business days.
The University of Texas at Dallas