Dr. Rebecca Files, the first Sydney Smith Hicks Faculty Fellow, was one of 11 University faculty members celebrated at an Investiture Ceremony in April. The University is focusing efforts to attract the best young faculty members who have the potential to become leaders in new and emerging research fields.

University Makes Strides in Attracting Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

A key component of the University’s strategy is increasing the number of tenured and tenure-track faculty to serve a growing, academically gifted student body.

From 2014 to 2015, the number of top level faculty increased more than 4 percent, from 529 to 550. The University's most recent strategic plan sets a goal to raise that figure to 600-700 over the next few years.

An important tool in attracting top talent to UT Dallas has been the creation of more than 110 endowed chairs, fellowships and professorships. These positions, which are established through the generosity of University supporters, are considered the highest academic honor that the University can bestow upon a faculty member.

Endowed positions play a critical role in advancing faculty members' instructional programs and research, and they are enduring tributes to the donors who establish them.

In 2015 during a formal, public investiture ceremony, the University recognized 11 distinguished faculty members who were named to endowed positions.

Donning full academic regalia, each investee was honored with a medallion and given the opportunity to thank career mentors, family members and the donors who made their positions possible.

Recognizing Faculty Excellence
Piper Professor The award, established by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation to recognize outstanding college professors across Texas, honors educators for dedication to the teaching profession and for outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement.
Dr. John Sibert Associate professor
School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Read more
The Provost Award for Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring The award recognizes a faculty mentor who demonstrates superior leadership, support and guidance toward the development of UT Dallas undergraduate students and their research endeavors.
Dr. Mihaela Stefan Associate professor
School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Read more
President's Outstanding Teaching Award Based in part on student nominations, the award recognizes individuals whose teaching efforts contribute significantly to student learning and the mission of the University.
Dr. Mieczyslaw Dabkowski Associate professor
School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Read more
Dr. McClain Watson Clinical associate professor
Naveen Jindal School of Management
Read more
The University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards The awards, the top teaching prizes in the University of Texas System, recognize faculty who have demonstrated extraordinary classroom performance and dedication to innovation in undergraduate instruction.
Dr. Monica Rankin Associate professor
School of Arts and Humanities
Read more

Read More
Dr. Daniel Cohen with his daugheter

Distinguished Professors, Benefactors Celebrated at Investiture Ceremony

Families of the faculty honorees as well as colleagues, students and friends attended the April 2 event that recognized 11 individuals and the benefactors who helped establish endowed chairs and professorships at the University.