Texas Pain Research Consortium

Texas Pain Research Consortium

TPRC Scientific Meeting Information

The 2017 TPRC Scientific Meeting was held on August 24 and 25, 2017 in Galveston, TX at the Hotel Galvez.

See a summary of the Galveston TPRC meeting.

Official Schedule

August 24

8:00 – 9:00 AM – Breakfast and Poster Setup

9:00 – 9:45 AM Introductory Session

9:00 – Dr. David Niesel (UTMB) Welcome Remarks

9:05 – Jin Mo Chung (UTMB) Dr. Bill Willis Memorial

9:15 – Leslie Carruth (UT System) Office of Health Affairs Collaboration Opportunity

9:30 – Matt Sorenson (UT System) Resources from the UT System Office of Innovation and Strategic Investment

15 min break

10:00 – 11:00AM Sex Differences in Pain

10:00 – Ken Hargreaves (UTHSCSA) Sexual dimorphic pain mechanisms

10:15 – Dayna Averitt (TWU) Sex Differences in Serotonergic Modulation of Trigeminal Nociceptors

10:30 – Phillip Kramer (TX A&M Dental) Sex differences in herpes zoster associated pain

10:45 – Greg Dussor (UTD) Prolactin and migraine

11:00 – 12:15PM Neuro-immune and other interactions in pain

11:00 Michelle Hook (Texas A&M) Opioid-Immune interactions in a rodent model of spinal cord injury

11:15 Michael Burton (UTD) Cell specific actions of TLR4 in pain

11:30 Pooja Singhmar (MD Anderson) Unravelling the role of Pi16, a protein secreted by fibroblasts, in regulating neuropathic pain

11:45 Blaine Jacobs (UTD) VEGF-dependent signaling between dural endothelial cells and dural afferents: a potential neurovascular mechanism contributing to migraine headache

12:00 Alan Prossin (UT Health) Novel evidence of expectation related placebo moderation of neuroimmune interactions in pain states in humans.

12:15 – 2:00PM Lunch and Poster Viewing

2:00 – 3:00PM Chemo, Diabetic and HIV Pain

2:00 – Shao-Jun Tang (UTMB) Pathogenesis of HIV-associated pain

2:15 – Yogi Wairkar (UTMB) Modeling HIV-drug induced neuropathy in Drosophila

2:30 – Cobi Heijnen (MD Anderson) Intranasal mesenchymal stem cell administration reverses chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy

2:45 – Stacey Gorniak (UH) Cortical Activation Differences in Older Adult Women with Type II Diabetes

30 min break

3:30 – 4:30PM DRG Pain Mechanisms

3:30 Terry Walters (UT Health) Chronic priming of nociceptor somata by bodily injury

3:45 Yu Shin Kim (UTMB) In vivo Cellular imaging of pain

4:00 Zak Campbell (UTD) Inhibition of Poly(A)-Binding Protein with an RNA mimic reduces pain sensitization in mice

4:15 Lucas Rodriguez (CerSci Therapeutics) CT-044, a novel peroxynitrite decomposition catalyst for incisional pain

4:30 – 5:30PM Cheryl Stucky “Cell-specific optogenetics to dissect roles in touch and pain

 5:30 – 8:00PM Dinner and Poster Viewing

August 25

8:00 – 9:00AM Breakfast and Poster Viewing

9:00 – 10:00AM Models and methods of sensitization

9:00 Kali Hankerd (UTMB) AMPK modulation of spinal sensitization

9:15 Michael Galko (MD Anderson) Using fruit flies to study nociception and nociceptive sensitization

9:30 Carmen Dessauer (UT Health) Molecular imaging of nociceptor chronic pain states

9:45 Perry Fuchs (UTA) Thoughts on animal models of pain

10:00 – 11:00AM Central Pain Mechanisms

10:00 Feng Tao (TX A&M Dental) Descending dopaminergic signaling and orofacial neuropathic pain

10:15 Ted Price (UTD) D5 receptors and chronic pain

10:30 Annemieke Kavelaars (MD Anderson) the role of IDO1 and KMO in the comorbidity of chronic pain and depression in a mouse model of neuropathic pain

10:45 Sung Il Park (TX A&M) Wireless measurements of cortical spreading depression in feely behaving animals

11:00 – 12:00PM Chemotherapy-induced Pain Part 2

11:00 – Pat Dougherty (MD Anderson) Human DRG and taxols

11:15 – Jun-Ho La (UTMB) Peripheral and central oxidative stress in the mouse models of chemotherapy-induced neuropathic pain

11:30 – Geoffroy Laumet (MD Anderson) Educated CD8+ T cells prevent chemotherapy-induced peripheral neuropathy (CIPN)

11:45 – Salim Megat (UTD) Utilizing TRAP mice to find new chemo pain targets in DRG nociceptors

12:00PM Meeting Adjourns

Images from the first TPRC Scientific Meeting held at UT Dallas in August of 2015