Department of Chemistry

School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

The Department of Chemistry to host Exxon Mobil Chief Polymer Scientist, Dr. Pat Brant, for a seminar entitled: “Separator Film Design for Lithium Ion Batteries” Jan. 23

The UT Dallas Department of Chemistry is proud to present Dr. Pat Brant, Chief Polymer Scientist of ExxonMobil Chemical.

Pat received his Bachelor's degree in chemistry from George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia and his PhD in Physical Inorganic Chemistry from the University of Arizona. 

Following a post-doctoral assignment at Purdue University in Indiana and National Research Council Fellowship at Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, DC, Pat accepted a staff research appointment at NRL in 1978.

Pat joined ExxonMobil Chemical in Baytown, Texas in 1981. Pat has held several technical and management assignments in Baytown. These include basic and applied work in polyolefins and their blends, polyolefin catalysts, plant operations, polyolefin-based adhesives, and development and application of advanced characterization methods, as well as work with key customers. Pat has been working with metallocene catalysts and the products made with these catalysts since 1989, including the procedure for manufacture of supported catalysts for ExceedTM metallocene LLDPE resin and optimum reactor operation conditions for manufacture of these resins. Two of his current interests are new polyolefins with tailored reactivity or architecture and new reactor design for polymerization of propylene. 

Pat is technical leader for design of new battery separator films for lithium ion batteries, especially applied to their use in hybrid electric and electric vehicles.

Pat is author or co-author of over 48 publications and over 30 issued patents.
He has received numerous Company awards, and most recently led the team that received the ICIS Best Product Innovation Award for 2008 for work on novel battery separator films.

For more information please contact Dr. Mihaela Iovu

  • Updated: January 20, 2009