Department of Chemistry

School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

The Department of Chemistry to host MIT Professor Timothy M. Swager for a seminar entitled: “Polymer Electronics for Chemical Sensors” Jan. 16

The UT Dallas Department of Chemistry will host Professor Timothy M. Swager, head of the Department of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for a seminar entitled: “Polymer Electronics for Chemical Sensors."

Dr. Swager is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Chemistry in MIT’s Department of Chemistry. He received a B.S. from Montana State University and a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology, working under the direction of Robert H. Grubbs.

After a postdoctoral appointment at MIT, Dr. Swager joined the chemistry faculty at the University of Pennsylvania before being named a professor of chemistry at MIT in 1996.

Dr. Swager has published approximately 250 peer-reviewed papers, 70 proceedings and five book chapters and serves on numerous editorial boards. His research interests are in design, synthesis and the study of organic-based electronic, sensory and liquid crystalline materials.

Dr Swager is the recipient of the following awards:

  • Member of the National Academy of Sciences, 2008
  • Honorary Doctorate Degree from Montana State University
  • Lemelson-MIT Award for Invention and Innovation, 2007
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2006
  • Christopher Columbus Foundation Homeland Security Award, 2005
  • The Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award (ACS-Polymer Div), 2005
  • Vladimir Karapetoff Award (MIT), 2000
  • Cope Scholar Award (ACS), 2000

For more information please contact Dr. Mihaela Iovu

  • Updated: January 13, 2009