Center for Teaching and Learning

President's Teaching Excellence Awards of 2017

The President’s Teaching Excellence Award committee receives hundreds of nominations every year and considers a broad spectrum of eligible candidates throughout the University. The award comes with a stipend and recipients were presented with medallions at the annual Honors Convocation ceremony in May. Read the full news article here.

Dr. Gregg Dieckmann

President’s Teaching Excellence Award in Undergraduate Instruction (tenure-track)

In addition to this year’s President’s Award, Dr. Gregg Dieckmann, associate professor of chemistry, has twice won Outstanding Teacher Awards from the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. A faculty member since 1999, he has taught inorganic chemistry, physical biochemistry and general chemistry, a course he has coordinated since 2006.


Dr. Sabrina Starnaman

President’s Teaching Excellence Award in Undergraduate Instruction (non-tenure-track)

Dr. Sabrina Starnaman, clinical assistant professor in the School of Arts and Humanities, began teaching at UT Dallas in 2011. She has taught an array of literary studies courses, including The Literature of Fantasy, The Literature of Science Fiction and Studies in Women’s Literature.


Sharron Conrad

President’s Teaching Excellence Award for Teaching Assistants

Sharron Conrad has worked as a teaching assistant at UT Dallas since fall 2014 teaching rhetoric in the School of Arts and Humanities. She credits her successes in the classroom to her experience in her previous career working with students in art and history museums.


Dr. Ravi Prakash

President’s Teaching Excellence Award in Graduate/Professional Instruction

Dr. Ravi Prakash, a professor of computer science, has taught undergrads and graduate students for nearly 20 years in the Department of Computer Science and the Hobson Wildenthal Honors College.


Kathy Zolton

President’s Teaching Excellence Award in Online/Blended Instruction

Senior lecturer of accounting Kathy Zolton has been at the Naveen Jindal School of Management for five years. Her primary course is Advanced Financial Reporting. Zolton said the key to online courses and asynchronous learning is to help the students feel that they are all together on the same path at around the same time.

President’s Teaching Excellence Awards of 2016

Teachers Honored at Convocation for Passion, Commitment to Students

Dr. Ryan McMahan

Provost’s Award for Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring

Dr. Ryan McMahan is an assistant professor in the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science and the School of Arts, Technology, and Emerging Communication. Since joining UT Dallas in 2012, McMahan has mentored 25 graduate, 15 undergraduate and six summer high school students conducting research in his Future Immersive Virtual Environments (FIVE) Lab. He also promotes research for underrepresented groups, including the establishment of a research summer camp for underrepresented high school students.


Dr. Denise Paquette Boots

President’s Teaching Excellence Award

Boots, who joined UT Dallas in 2006, teaches Introduction to Crime and Criminology and courses on topics including family violence, victimology, homicide and capital punishment. In 2009, she received a UT Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. Students who nominated Boots praised her passion for teaching and her efforts to help students succeed, even long after they finish her courses.


Dr. Jigarkumar Patel

President’s Teaching Excellence Award (non-tenure-track)

Patel earned both a master’s degree and PhD in applied mathematics from UT Dallas. He also received bachelor’s degrees in pure mathematics and education, and a master’s degree in pure mathematics from Gujarat University in India. Patel has been a senior lecturer since 2011 and is course coordinator for Applied Calculus II. In comments in Patel’s nomination materials, students praised him for the clarity of his lectures, his enthusiasm for his subject matter and his willingness to work one on one with students outside of class.


Emily Herzig

President’s Teaching Excellence Award for Teaching Assistants

Herzig was named one of the department’s first teaching associates, and has been the instructor of record for precalculus and applied calculus courses since 2014. Herzig said her approach to teaching draws on her enjoyment of the logical, problem-solving aspects of math.