2012 Diversity Award Winners

Corporate Diversity Award

Dr. Robert Doering
Texas Instruments

Texas Instruments for providing $15,000 in matching funds for a program that will support women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Community Champion Award

Irvin Ashford
Comerica Bank

Irvin Ashford, senior vice president public affairs and director of community development and external affairs for Comerica Bank, for work including partnership with a Naveen Jindal School of Management program to empower minority individuals to improve their economic wealth and ultimately their place in society.

Student Diversity Award

Runchun Chen

Runchun Chen, graduate student in the Naveen Jindal School of Management, for cosponsoring a program that welcomes international students by having domestic students provide tours to Dallas sightseeing spots.

Staff Diversity Award

Sharon Edwards

Sharon Edwards, administrative assistant in the Center for Lithospheric Studies at UT Dallas, for encouraging underrepresented students to pursue degree programs in geosciences and providing mentorship and assistance to international students.

Faculty Diversity Award

Dr. Alex Piquero

Dr. Alex Piquero, Ashbel Smith professor of criminology, one of the most prolific, scholarly and well-known criminologists in the world, and member of UT Dallas committee that supports diversity and equity and sits on the faculty diversity council.

Faculty Diversity Award

Dr. Orlando Richard

Dr. Orlando Richard, associate professor of organizations, strategy and international management, for his research and publications on workplace diversity and organizational justice; he also serves on the UT Dallas committee that supports diversity and equity and sits on the faculty diversity council.

Teaching Award for Inclusive Excellence

Dr. Mihaela Stefan

Dr. Mihaela Stefan, assistant professor of chemistry, for creating a classroom environment of inclusiveness, and for her investment in students.

Ambassador of Diversity Award

Dr. Duncan MacFarlane

Dr. Duncan MacFarlane, professor of electrical engineering, for his work as a friend, mentor, counselor and tutor to underprivileged, inner-city kids, and recruitment of other volunteers to serve this community.

Recognition for Diversity Service

Dr. Peter Park

Dr. Peter Park, associate professor of history and history of ideas, for leadership of the diversity and equity committee and service throughout the year.