Criminology Professor Receives Prestigious Award

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences has selected Alex R. Piquero, Ashbel Smith Professor of Criminology and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs in EPPS, for its most prestigious award. Dr. Piquero will receive the Bruce Smith, Sr. Award for his career achievements and in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of criminal justice.

Bruce Smith Sr. was a respected expert in police administration who made fundamental changes to police organization, management, and leadership. The award created in his honor recognizes those who have demonstrated leadership in the administration of criminal justice while making a substantial contribution to the emerging body of knowledge. Dr. Piquero will be recognized at the ACJS Awards Ceremony in Baltimore, Maryland in March 2019.

Posted Nov 26, 2018