Zachary Powell

Hometown: Tyler, Texas

Degrees: MS - Criminology, University of Texas at Dallas;
BS - Criminal Justice, University of North Texas
Current Academic Pursuit: PhD - Criminology
Expected Graduation Date: May 2018

UT Dallas Achievements & Activities

  • Social Coordinator
  • Criminology Graduate Student Association
  • Research

Deciding on Criminology

Originally, I wanted to be a marine biologist. However, after some gentle (but firm) prodding from my parents, I decided to start school as a forensic psychology major. After a few psych courses, I discovered that I was much more interested in criminal justice as a whole, leading me to switch to criminology. I think my parents hoped I would go on to law school; needless to say, that did not happen.

My EPPS Success

1) Reading: It is amazing how quickly you can develop your thinking by keeping an active, diligent reading schedule. This, without a doubt, is the easiest way to "get ahead." 2) Working a manual labor job: For the past several summers, I have worked a manual labor job out in the Texas heat. Every drop of sweat that soaks my clothing makes me appreciate my educational and professional goals just a little bit more. 3) Having a "growth" mentality: I am by no means "perfect." Accepting that fact has helped me learn to appreciate any constructive criticism I receive, making me strive to continually better myself. Ultimately, one is responsible for their own success; blaming others for your personal shortcomings does not help you grow as a person. 4) Mistakes: Fortunately for me, I am lucky enough to have been mentored by professors that let me make mistakes. Oftentimes, those experiences have been some of the most educational moments in my academic career. I have found that the phrase, "well, I'm never doing that again" has helped keep me from repeating the same errors.

Plans for the Future

Completing my degree and becoming a research professor at a university.

Advice to Prospective EPPS Students

The harder you work, the luckier you get.

Other Interests

Camping, hiking, running, art, and cooking.