Presidential Actions

DHS Announced New Travel Restrictions on Six Countries

On 1/31/2020 President Donald J. Trump signed a proclamation which places new restrictions on six countries that are based on country-specific deficiencies identified during a review process and an assessment of travel-related risk.

Affected Individuals

  • Travel Ban 4.0 contains restrictions on immigrants only. It will not impact non-immigrant visa applications or entry to the United States for F-1 students, J-1 exchange visitors, H-1B workers etc.
  • Entry into the United States of nationals of Eritrea, Burma, Kyrgyzstan and Nigeria as immigrants, except as Special Immigrants whose eligibility is based on having provided assistance to the United States Government, is suspended.
  • Entry into the United States of nationals of Sudan and Tanzania as Diversity Immigrants, is suspended.
  • Travel Ban 3.0 continues in effect on certain citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, and Somalia.

Effective Date

  • Travel Ban 4.0 becomes effective at 12:01 eastern standard time on February 21, 2020.

Implications for the non-immigrant population of UT Dallas:

  • If you are from one of the affected countries, and presently in the United States you are able to remain in the U.S. working and studying as appropriate for your visa category
  • If you are from one of the affected countries, physically outside the United States, or planning to travel outside the U.S. and re-enter in an immigrant category, your re-entry may be suspended.

Historical Precedence

Additional Resources:

For more information please refer to Proclamation 9983 of January 31, 2020.