Eugene McDermott Library What's New at McDermott Library E-Newsletter
Fall 2012

Faculty Author Reception to anchor National Library Week

The 7th Annual Faculty Author Reception honoring UT Dallas distinguished faculty for published and creative works will be held Thursday, April 18, 2013 as a part of National Library Week. In the previous six years it was held in mid-October.

The presenters of the reception, Executive Vice President and Provost Hobson Wildenthal and Director of Libraries Ellen Safley, decided April would be a better time to recognize those being honored. The reception will recognize authors and editors who publish works during the calendar year 2012 – from Jan. 1, 2012 to Dec. 31, 2012.

Also, because of the change of date, those who published works from Sept. 1, 2011 to Dec. 31, 2011 will be included.

McDermott Library has already compiled a working list of qualified faculty to be honored. Faculty members are encouraged you to contact Tom Koch at [email protected] or extension 4951 if you have a publication that qualifies for recognition.

Newly-tenured faculty members introduced in the fall of 2012 will also be recognized at the reception for the sixth consecutive year. The McDermott Library liaison for each school will invite all eligible newly-tenured faculty to choose a book for the library collection.

Koch will also take photographs of the honorees in order to produce the individual READ posters that have become a tradition at the reception. He will be contacting faculty authors and newly-tenured faculty to arrange a photograph.

The Faculty Author Reception is open to all UT Dallas faculty, library staff and invited guests. Formal invitations will be sent in early spring. Below are scenes from the 2011 reception.

New this year will be recognition of authors who received a “best paper” or similar award at the national level. The paper must be peer-reviewed and appear in the organization’ s magazine or journal. Conference papers are not eligible (though they are suitable for inclusion in Treasures @ UT Dallas). Contact Allen Clayton, PhD, for information about Treasures.

David Patterson, Susan Chizeck and Bill Pervin

Professor School
Susan Briante A&H
Frank Dufour A&H
Natalie Ring A&H
Shayla Holub BBS
Daniel Krawczyk BBS
Mandy Maguire BBS
Xiaohu Guo ECS
Kevin Hamlen ECS
Amy Walker ECS
Robert Morris* EPPS
Nina Baranchuk JSOM
Umit Gurun JSOM
Zalman Balanov NSM
Yan Cao* NSM
* Moved from Associate Professor without tenure to Associate Professor with tenure. All others moved from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor with tenure.

A&H - Arts and Humanities, BBS - Behavioral and Brain Sciences, ECS - Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science, EPPS - Economic Policy and Political Science, JSOM - Jindal School of Management, NSM - Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

Aage Moller in 2011
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Our Archives

Eugene McDermott Library
©2012 The University of Texas at Dallas

You are receiving this email because you subscribed to What's New at McDermott Library.
To change your subscription, email [email protected] with "subscribe" or "unsubscribe"
as the subject, or use the following links: subscribe, unsubscribe.