Mechanics of Advanced Materials Laboratory


Spring 2020

  1. Congrats to Ethan Zhao for receiving First Place in the environmental science category of the Texas regional competition for his aerogel research he has done in our lab.
  2. Sadeq successfully passed his PhD dissertation defense! Congrats and best wishes to him!
  3. Starting Jan. 2020, Dr. Lu has started to serve as an Editor-in-Chief for Mechanics of Time Dependent Materials journal.

Fall 2019

  1. We are excited to announce that our lab is now equipped with a new in-situ micro CT mechanical frame. With this facility, we can observe the microstructures of a variety of materials in a nondestructive way during a mechanical test.
  2. Dr. Lu and Sadeq presented their talks in IMECE 2019 at Salt Lake City, UT.
  3. We are pleased to welcome our new visiting scholar, Dr. Wang, from Nanjing Normal University.
  4. Ning successfully passed his qualifying exam. He is now a PhD candidate in our lab. Best wishes to him!
  5. We are pleased to welcome our new postdoc, Dr. Hatamleh. He received his PhD from UTD in Spring 2019.

Summer 2019

  1. Welcome to our new high school fellow researchers Ethan Zhao, Nicholas Tsao, Stephen Yang, Angela Liu, Angelina Xu, Isaiah Lambert-Gutierrez, Matthew Lin, and Catherine Yang, and undergraduate researcher Ashan Ranmuthu.
  2. Congrats to our high school researchers (Ethan, Nick, and Stephen) for earning the second prize at the CAST STEM Bridge final symposium for their research on the development of new organic aerogels.
  3. Dr. Lu was invited to give a talk at Sandia National Lab.

Spring 2019

  1. Congrats to Sadeq for receiving the first place in the 2019 Poster Competition.

Fall 2018

  1. We are so excited to have three new PhD students (Cheng, Ning, and Runyu) joining our lab. Welcome guys and wish you the best!
  2. Congratulations to Shameek for his new position as a process engineer at Pegatron Corporation! Best wishes to you!

Summer 2018

  1. Dr. Luo, our research scientist, is leaving for a new position. We would like to thank him for his contributions at UT-Dallas. Congratulations and best wishes to him!
  2. Dr. Qin is our new visitor professor from China. Welcome, Dr. Qin!
  3. Xuemin successfully passed her PhD dissertation defense! Congrats and best wishes to her!
  4. Dr. Ren is our new Postdoc. Welcome, Yao!
  5. Dongyang is our new PhD student. Welcome and best luck to him!
  6. We are hosting a few talented high school students (Nicholas Tsao, James Shiao, Lillian Ye, Daniel Yu and Anastasia Helms) through CAST and NanoExplorere STEM programs. So excited to have you guys here!
  7. Jash Pujara (Aerospace undergrad student from UT-Austin) has joined us for this summer. Welcome, Jash!
  8. Farris Khammash and Maria Valdez, our UTD ME undergrads, have also joined our group to do research. Welcome guys!

Spring 2018

  1. Dr. Hu is leaving for a new position at Corning Inc., congratulations, and best wishes to him.
  2. Sadeq could successfully pass his comprehensive exam, congratulations to him.
  3. Congratulations to Saman for receiving a prestigious summer 2018 internship position at NASA Langley Research Center. Great job Saman!
  4. Sadeq is awarded the prestigious ASME graduate student award (ASME North Texas Section) for 2017-18, congratulations to him.

Fall 2017

  1. Congrats to Xuemin and Sadeq for being a recipient of the prestigious Louis Beecherl, Jr. Graduate Fellowship.
  2. Congrats to Xuemin for passing her comprehensive exam.

Spring 2017

  1. Dr. Lu presented a keynote talk at 2017 MRS Spring Meeting.

Summer 2017

  1. Congrats to Jenna and Fabiola (NSF sponsored REU fellows) for the Best Paper Award on their aerogel research at ASME 2017 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition.
  2. Congrats to Tingge for his successful Ph.D. defense and his new position as a senior engineer at Global Foundries.

Fall 2016

  1. Congrats to our undergraduate students, Suzie and John, for obtaining summer (2017) internship positions at Texas Instruments! Keep the dream alive.
  2. Suzie and John received the UT Dallas Undergraduate Research Scholar Award for the 2016-2017 academic year! Right on.
  3. Congrats to Sadeq for being a recipient of the prestigious Ph.D. Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering.
  4. Congrats to Dr. Churu for his new position as an assistant professor in mechanical engineering at Letourneau University.