Metal Muscles Capture Nanotech Research Award

Nov. 7, 2007

The invention of fuel-powered artificial muscles has landed a prestigious award for researchers working under director Ray Baughman of the UT Dallas NanoTech Institute.

A panel of nanotechnology experts ranked the chemical-fueled metal muscles one of the top nominations in this year's Nano 50 Awards.

The award presentation will occur at the NASA Tech Briefs National Nano Engineering Conference in Boston on Nov. 14 and 15.

The full list of inventors behind UT Dallas’ winning entry includes: Von Howard Ebron, Zhiwei Yang, Daniel J. Seyer, Mikhail E. Kozlov, Jiyoung Oh, Hui Xie, Joselito Razal, John P. Ferraris and Alan G. MacDiarmid.

A team report on the artificial muscles that was published in March 2006 in Science magazine drew international media coverage.

The artificial muscle findings could help developers overcome some of the limits in robotics and enable creation of fuel-powered artificial limbs.

Media contacts:  Meredith Dickenson, UT Dallas (972) 883-2293, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Ray Baughman

Dr. Ray Baughman

Share this page

Email this article.

May 24, 2018