2 Profs Elected Leaders of Criminal Science Academy

Jan. 23, 2008

Two UT Dallas professors have won seats on the board that governs the Academy of  Criminal Justice Sciences.

James W. Marquart was elected second vice president, a position that puts him in line to be first vice president next year and president the year after that.

John Worrall was elected to a three-year term to the position of trustee at large.

UT Dallas Criminology Program

The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. The academy promotes criminal justice education, research and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

Marquart has been a member of the group since 1985. He  is currently director of the Crime and Justice Studies Program at UT Dallas. He has long-term research and teaching interests in prison organizations, capital punishment, criminal justice policy and research methods.

He has also published a number of articles on social control and change in prison settings. His books include The Rope, The Chair, and the Needle: Patterns of Capital Punishment in Texas, 1923-1990 and The Keepers: Prison Guards and Contemporary Corrections and An Appeal to Justice: Litigated Reform of Texas Prisons.

Worrall has been a member of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences  since 1997. He  specializes in and teaches courses on crime control policy, legal issues, prosecution, and courts.

He has published a number of articles in journals such as Criminology, Evaluation Review, and Justice Quarterly.  Dr. Worrall is also the author of six books.

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Share this page

Email this article.

March 20, 2019