New Student Government Representatives Elected

President Steven Rosson Seeks to Increase Awareness About Representation

April 9, 2008

After casting 477 votes, UT Dallas students have a new government, electing  24  positions, including president and vice president.

The year-long terms for these new officers start in May.

Steven Rosson, who ran unopposed, was elected president.  The business administration junior and Dallas native is also vice president of Chi Phi and chair of the Student Affairs Committee. 

Rosson has been a member of Student Government since 2006.

He says his main goal is to increase awareness of student representation by posting on the Student Governement Web site contact information for University committees responsible for everything from “negotiating our contracts with outside vendors to making recommendations on educational policy and programs.”

Maria Islam, a biochemistry senior from Denton, won the contest for vice president.  She is also a member of Amnesty International, the Muslim Students Association, Students for Environmental Awareness, Bangladeshi Student Organization and Collegium V.

Islam has been in Student Government since freshman year.  

Her main goal is to increase student involvement within Student Government and on the UT Dallas campus as a whole.

In addition to president and vice president, the following candidates won seats to serve as senators from the University’s schools and sophomore and graduate classes (listed in the table at right).

More information: UT Dallas Student Government,
Media contact: Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

2008-09 Student Government
Senators from the University’s schools and sophomore and graduate classes:

School of Natural Sciences
& Mathematics
Rachel Stratton,
junior seat
  Isaac Hernandez,
senior seat

School of Arts & Humanities

Andrew Hoelscher,
junior seat
  Anthony Broderick,
senior seat

School of Economic, Political
& Policy Sciences

Samia Hossain,
junior seat
  Ben Dower,
senior seat

School of Engineering
& Computer Science

Cody Eilrich,
junior seat
Luis Torres,
senior seat

School of Management

Nick Hinojosa,
junior seat
Daniel Kaminski,
senior seat

School of Brain
& Behavioral Sciences

Yana Gelman,
junior seat
  Karen Hinkley,
senior seat


Dina Shahrokhi
Mackenzie Hird
Diana Kao
Lewis Chang
  Grace Bielawski
Sarah Trowsdale
Cristina Almeida


Megan Malone
Elizabeth Agalaba
  Gillian Papanek

Share this page

Email this article.

April 23, 2018