Ring Awards Band Four Students in Excellence

March 14, 2008

UT Dallas Alumni Relations formally presented four members of the class of 2008 with Alumni Ring Awards during the group’s annual Ring Presentation Ceremony and Reception, held at the Davidson Auditorium in the School of Management on Friday.

The award, established by alumni, faculty, and staff in 2001, recognizes outstanding scholars whose contributions both inside and outside the classroom have had a significant impact at UT Dallas and beyond.  



UT Dallas President David E. Daniel presented complimentary class rings to the recipients, selected by committee of alumni. The winners read essays about the rings' meaning to them.  

“The family I’ve chosen at UTD has challenged and supported me in a way that only the relationships you create for yourself can,” said Lelia Gowland, one of the winners.

The biology undergrad thanked professors, staff members and friends for her success at UT Dallas. “They are my family, and this ring embodies our shared experiences and relationships,” she said.

President Daniel also presented class rings to members of the class of 2008 who purchased a ring.

This year’s recipients, and the degrees they expect to earn in May, are:

  • Lyndsi Ayers of Farmington, N.M., who will receive dual bachelor’s degrees in biology and criminology.
  • Miguel Cubillos, from Richardson, who will receive a master’s degree in arts and technology.
  • Lelia Gowland of New Orleans, who will receive a B.A. degree in sociology.
  • Naveen Manori, from Carrollton, Texas, who will receive a B.S. degree in neuroscience.

The UT Dallas class ring features powerful symbols of the University, including the Texas flag, which is meant to remind students of their heritage, frontier spirit and entrepreneurial wisdom that built the state and the University.  The ring also features a comet, encircling a lone star, which reflects the University’s roots in science and its aim toward the future.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. Darrelene Rachavong, vice president for student affairs; Laura Beall, interim vice president for development, and Dean Donna Rogers, assistant vice president for student affairs and dean of students.

Media contact:  Jenni Huffenberger, UT Dallas, [email protected], 972-883-4431
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

From left: UT Dallas President David Daniel and Alumni Ring Award winners Lyndsi Ayers, Lelia Gowland and Miguel Cubillos. Naveen Manori was unable to attend.

Share this page

Email this article.

April 24, 2018