Volunteers Receive Community Service Awards

Students, Faculty, Staff Members Gave Time Under President Bush’s Program

April 15, 2008

President David E. Daniel honored 21 UT Dallas students, and faculty and staff members on Monday for contributing more than 4,600 hours of community service in 2007.

UT Dallas President David E. Daniel presented the Volunteer Service Awards on Monday in the McDermott Suite of the library.

The University will host a reception in the McDermott Suite to honor the award recipients.

These volunteers tracked their service hours on a Web site created by President George W. Bush’s Council on Service and Civic Participation. 

The volunteers tutored students of all ages, mentored children in need, assisted the homeless, worked with senior citizens, delivered prescriptions, taught life skills at a local camp, and volunteered with their churches, campus clubs, student government, and service groups.

Created in 2003, the President’s Volunteer Service Award is issued by President Bush’s Council on Service and Civic Participation to recognize and encourage sustained volunteer service and to encourage volunteering as a central part in the lives of all Americans.

The council’s purpose is to promote an ethic of service and to recognize Americans who are giving back to their communities through acts of service.

Media contact: Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size




Winners of the President's Council on Service and Civic Participation Awards:
UT Dallas students

Yingda Bi
David Bindel
Jonathan Coker
Catalina Cuervo
Benjamin Farnia
Jessica Harpham
Ryan Henry
Sarah Hinkley
  Scott Hooker
Noor Khoja
Yogitha Kopparapu
Grace Lee
Felicity Lenes
Megan Malone
Shubham Manchanda

Staff and faculty members

Carol Abbott
Megan Greene
Rick Holland
Dr. Larry Sall
  Dr. Nicolas Valcik
Dr. Alexey Root,
faculty member

Share this page

Email this article.

May 25, 2018