UT Dallas Names 9 Development Board Life Members

Sept. 19, 2008

New UT Dallas
Development Board
Life Members

Dr. H.L. (Skip) Bilhartz
Charles (Chuck) Davidson*
Ken Dickerson
Sharon Freytag
Dr. Sydney Smith Hicks
Dr. Jim Mitchell
Patti Henry Pinch
Shelia Schlosberg
Linda Nelson*

* UT Dallas alumni

The Galaxy Room on the UT Dallas campus fell silent the morning of September 11, 2008.  Dozens of this area’s leaders and luminaries quietly paid homage to the lives lost seven years ago.  The assembled UT Dallas Development Board held their annual meeting on a day important to America and at a time critical to UT Dallas.

As the university makes its case to be a Tier One, top-flight institution for high-caliber research, the fundraising needs are many.  The community team that leads those efforts comprises some of the brightest achievers that move throughout area business and industry – highly capable fundraisers and representatives of the orange and green.

The 30-member development board is charged with promoting the interests of UT Dallas in the community and enlisting support, including financial backing, for the university, which was founded in 1969. 

Board Chairman Jim Von Ehr opened the meeting and welcomed the university’s development officers hired since January, including:

  • Kyle Edgington, School of Management.
  • Tricia Barnett, School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences.
  • Ann Ratliff, School of Engineering and Computer Science.
  • Mary Brouillette, School of Arts & Humanities.
  • Michele Myers, School of Natural Sciences & Mathematics.

Ted McPherson, chairman of the Campaign Readiness Task Force, said, “UT Dallas to me, is a blue chip growth stock.”  Several area leaders who helped build that reputation were honored as Life Members of the UT Dallas Development Board.

Many of the nine, newly-appointed life members serve dual or multiple appointments across campus.

Media Contacts: Brandon V. Webb, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Development Board honorees

Development Board Life Member Patti Henry Pinch with board Chairman Jim Von Ehr.

Development Board seal and desk set

Newly appointed Life Members of the UT Dallas Development Board received crystal desk pens and holders bearing the university seal and the date of life membership.

Campaign Readiness Task Force Ted McPherson (l), and UT Dallas President David E. Daniel

Chairman of the Campaign Readiness Task Force Ted McPherson (left) and UT Dallas President David E. Daniel.

Share this page

Email this article.

April 21, 2018