New Honor Society Recognizes Transfer Students

April 20, 2009

Tau Sigma National Honor Society, an academic honor society for transfer students, was formally installed on campus and inducted 93 members at its inaugural ceremony Sunday, April 19, in the Eugene McDermott Library McDermott Suite.

Tau Sigma recognizes and promotes the academic excellence and involvement of its members. Membership is granted to students who have transferred into the University and earned at least a 3.5 grade-point average during their first semester.

According to Yolandé Porter, program coordinator for Transfer Student Services, research shows that more than half of students in four-year institutions don’t begin there.

“At UT Dallas, transfer students make up well over half our population, Porter said. “We hope to provide an opportunity for them to build a sense of community, to make connections by getting involved, and to enhance their visibility and reputation. We feel establishing a Tau Sigma National Honor Society chapter on campus will help do just that.”

In fall 2008, the University admitted its largest transfer cohort ever — 1,595 students.

Honorary Members

Lauren Buell, UT Dallas student

Kenneth Leatherman, UT Dallas alumnus

Kruti Dholakia, Ph.D., associate dean for undergraduate education in the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences

Donna Rogers, assistant vice president for Student Affairs and dean of students

Yolande’ Porter, program coordinator for Transfer Student Services

Along those lines, initiatives like the Comet Connection program were created specifically for students who begin at community college and know they would like to complete their degrees at UT Dallas.

Through that program, transfer students lock in UT Dallas tuition at today’s rates. The University has Comet Connection partnerships with all 50 public community colleges in Texas, as well as with the two private community colleges in the state.

Other inductees included five honorary members who were invited to join due to their outstanding contributions to the field of education.


Media Contacts: Jenni Huffenberger, UT Dallas, (972) 883-4431, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Tau Sigma Inductees
Abaka Aboa
Tsehay Abraha
Ogulsoltan Arazgeldiyeva
Joshua Bates
Ryan Blackmon
Alyson Brands
David Brown
Catherine Busby
Giovanni Calarco
Benjamin Casey
Kristine Chen
Hanna Choate
Hyunsoo Chun
Cela Conners
Amber Counts
Amanda Coyle
Yemi Desta
Miles Doberevsky
Stacey Dowd
Abby Dunn
Sandria Edgar
Lawrence Engels II
Francisco Espinoza
Lynette Frazier
Arezou Ghaemmaghami
Patricia Guerra
Ashley Harden
Amber Harrison
Edwina Harvey
Haylie Hunt-Fraser
Gabriela Jacome
Brandon James
Mi Jeong Jang
Erin Johns
Khanarey Keth
Michelle Lai
Jason Lazaroff
Daniel Lazourievsky
Austin Lee
Magdalena Lee
Maxine Lisot
John Ly
Chung-Yan Man
Jason Matisoff

Marissa Mazzola
Shane McBride
Eric Morris
Sewar Naja
Erika Newton
Laura O'Brien
Emily Pace
Krunal Patel
Faatema Peera
Sheridan Peixoto
Elaine Perry
John Pierce
Shivangi Pokharel
Zahir Poonawala
Rachel Pylate
Benjamin Quek
Jonathan Ragan
Emily Richeson
Amanda Rivera
Kelly Rouse
Robin Ruthenborg
Jeremy Saunders
Samuel Sawin
Charlotte Scott
Tony Seagroves
Rishi Shah
William Singer
Sara Skidmore
Ruby Solorzano
Diana Stambaugh
Natalie Stewart
James Strawn
John Suarez
Veeraj Thakkar
John Thomason
Michael Thurston
Jerra Tonjes
Lou Tra
Ashley Turney
Jenilee Tuttle
Lai U
Gerald Walker
Leslie Woodruff
Connie Young

Share this page

Email this article.

November 16, 2018