Awards Honor Staffers Who ‘Go Above and Beyond’

May 11, 2009

A driving force behind a program to help at-risk students and a veteran athlete on the University’s Corporate Challenge team were among the six staff employees honored in the Spring 2009 CARE Awards.

The award, short for “Celebrate Achievement – Reward Excellence,” honors staff members who have demonstrated superior performance, offered outstanding customer service and enhanced the University’s image with their work.

UT Dallas President David E. Daniel presented each recipient with a clock and certificate of appreciation.

“This is a chance to thank those who go above and beyond the call of duty,” said Dr. Daniel.

Included among the honorees was Netreia McNulty of the UT Dallas Multicultural Center. She created the Comet Stars program, which mentors first year students who are considered to be at-risk, and was named Innovator of the Year by the Student Affairs office.

Also among the honorees was Jacob Abraham, who started as a student worker in the computer services office in 1999 and became a full time worker in 2002. He has competed in the Corporate Challenge with the UT Dallas team for several years and was named Athlete of the Year in 2006.

The award is given twice a year to six employees that are nominated by fellow staff members, faculty members, visitors and patrons of the university.

Other spring 2009 CARE Award winners were:

  • Lisa Alexander – Dispatch Communications Supervisor in the UT Dallas Police Department.
  • Corina Cantua – Academic Advisor in the School of Management.
  • Linda Maute - Administrative Associate in the School of Engineering and Computer Science.
  • Alison Rackler – Enrollment Services Processor.

Media Contact: Taylor Buttler, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

The Spring 2009 Care Award winners

The Spring 2009 CARE Award recipients are (from left) Jacob Abraham, Lisa Alexander, Netreia McNulty, Corina Cantua, Alison Rackler and Linda Maute.

Share this page

Email this article.

April 19, 2018