Sickle Cell Center Hosts Research Diversity Program

Aug. 25, 2009

The Sickle Cell Disease Research Center helped visiting scholars hone their research skills and knowledge over the summer as part of program to increase diversity in the nation’s academic ranks.

Students of the SIPID program working in a lab

The Summer Institute Program to Increase Diversity brought 16 researchers to the UT Dallas campus at different times in July.

The Summer Institute Program to Increase Diversity brought 16 researchers to campus, where they drew on the interdisciplinary expertise of UT Dallas faculty members.

 The institute is sponsored by the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI).  Mentors include Dr. Betty Pace, director of the UT Dallas Sickle Cell Disease Research Center and a professor of molecular and cell biology.

UT Dallas is one of three universities awarded a four-year grant from the NHLBI to host the diversity program.  Titled “Functional Genomics of Blood Disorders,” the UT Dallas program encourages collaborations to seek new treatments and cures for blood-related illnesses.

The two-year expense-paid program equips underrepresented junior faculty with the knowledge to develop independent research by establishing mentoring partnerships with nationally established researchers.  One of the program’s goals is to have participants receive and serve as principal investigators on major grants.

Media Contact: Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size


The program was established in July 2007 with the goal of recruiting three faculty cohorts. This year, UT Dallas hosted two groups, Cohort 3, consisting of ten new junior faculty beginning their first summer session from July 6 – July 17, 2009 and Cohort 2 who returned to complete their second and final training session from July 20 – July 29, 2009.

Cohort 2

Maxine Adegbola, PhD, UT Arlington
Ruby Broadway, PhD, Dillard University
Laura De Castro, MD, Duke University
Harlan Jones, PhD, University of North Texas
Nicholas Olomu, MD, Michigan State University
Angela Rivers, MD, PhD, University of Florida

Cohort 3

Shawn Bediako, PhD, University of Maryland Baltimore County
Regina Crawford, MD, Duke University
Samuel Eguae, PhD, Paul Quinn College
Emmanuel Fadeyi, MD, East Carolina University
Beng Fuh, MD, East Carolina University
Cheedy Jaja, PhD, Medical College of Georgia
Coretta Jenerette, PhD, University of North Carolina
Laura Luque, PhD, Rhodes College
Ifeyinwa Osunkwo, MD, Emory University
Deirdre Vaden, PhD, Prairie View A&M University

Share this page

Email this article.

October 22, 2018