5 Inducted into UT Dallas Athletic Hall of Honors

2 Administrators Played Key Role in Sports Program’s Creation

Oct. 30, 2009

The Department of Intercollegiate Athletics inducted its largest class ever Wednesday night, adding two administrators and three former soccer standouts to the UT Dallas Athletic Hall of Honors.

More Online

Honorees’ Contributions

Dr. Darrelene Rachavong, the University’s vice president for student affairs, and Dr. Michael J. Coleman, dean of undergraduate education, were inducted for their role in the formation of the intercollegiate athletic program back in the mid-1990s.

James D. Pomposelli, an award-winning men’s soccer standout, and two members of the Comets’ 2002 women’s soccer championship team – Katy Turner Moen and Serena Griffin Santana – were added as student-athletes.

The five-member Class of 2009 is the largest yet in the 3-year-old Hall of Honors.

The inaugural Class of 2007 included four members, and two others were added in 2008.

The honored individuals are selected by a 10-member selection committee. Administrators, coaches and outside supporters are selected based on their contribution to the program while student-athletes must be UT Dallas graduates who have earned their degree at least five or more years prior to induction.

Media Contact: Bruce Unrue, UT Dallas, (972) 883-6308, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected]

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Athletic Honorees
New members of the UT Dallas Athletic Hall of Honors are (from left) Serena Griffin Santana, J.D. Pomposelli, Katy Turner Moen and Dr. Darrelene Rachavong. Not pictured is Dr. J. Michael Coleman.

Share this page

Email this article.

April 24, 2018